Who can you drive with when you have your permit in Maine?

Asked By: Jema Ingham | Last Updated: 10th June, 2020
Category: automotive auto insurance
4.6/5 (28 Views . 13 Votes)
With a learner's permit, teens may only drive with a licensed driver at least 20 years of age who has held a valid license for at least two years. Teens are required to practice driving for at least 70 hours, including 10 hours at night, before they're allowed an intermediate license.

Click to see full answer


Regarding this, who are you allowed to drive with a permit?

An individual with a learner's license/permit may drive only when accompanied either by a licensed parent or legal guardian or, with the permission of the parent or legal guardian, a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.

Additionally, can I drive in Maine with a Massachusetts learner's permit? A person with a valid learner's permit issued by his/her home state can legally drive in Maine provided that person is at least 16 years of age and adheres to all restrictions applied to the learner's permit issued by that person's state or province.

Keeping this in view, how late can you drive with a permit in Maine?

While permittees ages 18-20 are free from the prohibition of driving between 12am-5am and are not required to take a driver education course, they are still required to have a supervisor in the car with them. And the first license obtained by an 18 to 20-year-old is also subject to a two-year provisional period.

How do I get a learners permit in Maine?

How to Apply for Your Learner's Permit in Maine

  1. 1COMPLETE DRIVER EDUCATION (UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE ONLY)
  2. 2COLLECT REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION.
  3. 3COMPLETE AN APPLICATION FORM.
  4. 4SUBMIT AN APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS.
  5. 5PAY THE FEE.
  6. 6GET THE WRITTEN AND VISION TEST APPOINTMENT.
  7. 7PASS THE WRITTEN TEST.
  8. 8PASS THE VISION TEST.

39 Related Question Answers Found

How many family members can you drive with a permit?

With a learner's permit, teens may only drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older supervising and sitting in the front seat. Learner's permit holders may not drive with more than one non-family passenger under age 18.

Can I drive to school with a permit?

In some states, permit holders are allowed to drive to and from school or work with a permit, without a supervising driver. Obtaining a provisional license allows certain restrictions to be lifted from the driver, such as the times that they are allowed to drive, and the number of people allowed in the car.

What happens if I get caught driving with a permit?

Driving alone with a permit is an offense known as the misuse of a restricted license, and the penalty is a license suspension. The suspension for driving with a permit alone is likely to last no longer than six months. Do not drive while your learner's license is suspended because additional penalties can apply.

Where is it legal to drive at 14?

FAQs about driving age by state in the USA
You can obtain a learner's permit in Alaska, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, North and South Dakota at just 14 years old.

What happens if you get caught driving friends before 6 months?


The Rules, the Law,
Junior operators are not allowed to drive passengers under the age of 18 for the first six months of driving; this law excludes siblings. If a junior operator is caught breaking this law, he/she will have a 180-day license suspension and have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee.

Can I practice driving without a permit?

Are Driving Lessons Without a Permit Illegal? Driving without a license or permit can become an issue if you've chosen a government-owned property to practice your skills. However, supervised lessons on a privately-owned lot are generally permissible and shouldn't land you in any legal trouble.

How do I get my license after my permit?

How to get your Driver's License after having your Learner's
  1. Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)
  2. First Time Driver Course.
  3. The DATA Course (Drugs, Alcohol, Traffic, Awareness)
  4. The 4-Hour Drug & Alcohol course.
  5. The DATE Course (Drugs, Alcohol, Traffic Education)

Can I drive without my permit on me?

Driving without a valid license is a jailable offense in all 50 states in the US. Additionally, the offense carries points on your license; in the US, you can recieve points against your license even if you don't yet have one. Driving without a valid license - or a permit (with a licensed driver) - can put you in jail.

Can you drive out of state with a Maine permit?

Maine A person with a valid learner's permit issued by his/her home state can legally drive in Maine provided that person is at least 16 years of age and adheres to all restrictions applied to the learner's permit issued by that person's state or province.

Do I have to take the road test if I'm 18?


Until you reach the age of 18, you must have the learner's permit for six months before you can take the test, but once you reach the age of 18 you can take the test regardless of whether or not you have a permit.

Can you drive after midnight?

Yes. You can drive between midnight and 5am to and from work by taking the shortest, most practicable route or in the course of doing your job.

Can you drive your friends with a permit?

With your permit you may practice driving with a parent, guardian, driving instructor or an adult 25 years of age or older. You may not drive your friends around in the car, especially not by yourself. It is important to keep track of the hours you spend behind the wheel driving.

Do you need a permit to get a license if you're over 18?

You must first pass the written test. That will give you a learner's permit, whether you want one or not. If you are 18 or older, you can then immediately take the behind the wheel test. In reality, this is unrealistic since many DMV offices require an appointment for a behind the wheel test.

Can you take your road test with an expired permit?


You must keep the expired permit with your new instruction permit until you pass your driving test. If you lose your expired instruction permit, without the necessary proof of a previous application, the full six-month waiting period will be required before you will be allowed to take your driving test.

Can you get your license at 18 without a permit in Maine?

How Do You Obtain A Permit in Maine? You must be at least 15 years of age. If under 18 years of age, complete an approved driver education course. Although your social security number will not be displayed on your license, it must be provided upon application or renewal for a license.

Do you need hours to get your license?

Learner drivers under the age of 21 must complete a minimum of 120 hours of supervised driving experience (including at least 20 hours at night) before they can take the drive test.