When can you make a ChildLine report?

Asked By: Daylos Bach | Last Updated: 14th April, 2020
Category: family and relationships adoption and fostering
4.5/5 (137 Views . 37 Votes)
Call ChildLine at 1-800-932-0313.
After making the call, mandated reporters must follow up with a written report, which may be submitted electronically, within 48 hours to the Department or county agency assigned to the case by using the CY-47 form.

Click to see full answer


Also to know is, how do I get a ChildLine report?

The toll-free hotline, 1-800-932-0313, is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to receive reports of suspected child abuse. Mandated reporters can report electronically.

Furthermore, how do you do a mandated report? Currently, only mandated reporters may make a report electronically. Everyone is encouraged to make a report if they have reasonable cause to suspect that a child is victim of abuse. Those people who are not mandated reporters can make a report by calling ChildLine at 800-932-0313.

Similarly, you may ask, how long does a mandated reporter have to make a report?

State law will dictate how soon you are required to make the report. Some state laws specify that a report must be made immediately after you have reason to believe; some state laws specify within 24 or 48 hours. Sometimes you may be asked to also submit a written report after calling in.

What happens after a mandatory reporter makes a report?

The law offers the following protections to a person who makes a report in good faith: making the report will not breach professional etiquette or ethics or amount to professional misconduct. the reporter will not be liable for defamation. the reporter is protected from civil and criminal liability.

37 Related Question Answers Found

Is Childline really confidential?

Hi there, ChildLine is anonymous and confidential – this means you don't need to tell anyone that you're signing up for an account or that you're talking to us. ChildLine is a private space where you can talk about things you don't feel able to say to anyone else – and this can include your parents if you wish.

What happens if you call Childline?

It's just between you and Childline
Calls are not recorded and our number won't show up on any phone bills. Counsellors write some notes about what you tell them. They also keep notes for 1-2-1 counsellor chats and emails and save copies of what you've said in a chat or email. These notes stay safe at Childline.

What is the main purpose of Childline?

Childline KZN is a non-profit organisation whose main purpose is the development of a society FREE of child abuse in which every person takes responsibility for promoting the protection and RIGHTS.

What is an Act 33 clearance?

In order to comply with Pennsylvania legislation (ACT 153), your position requires that you secure a new Act 33 Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance every 60 months. You are required to provide original documentation of this clearance by the. expiration date provided to you by Human Resources.

Can you call DHS anonymously?


Yes, You Can Call Child Protective Services Anonymously
Most states, however, allow callers to report cases anonymously. You might have to provide your name and address for a follow-up, but it won't be disclosed. If the on-call worker fears immediate danger, then local offices dispense help that day.

How do I report child endangerment?

Call 0808 800 5000
You can call us on 0808 800 5000, Monday to Friday 8am – 10pm and 9am – 6pm at the weekends. Calls are free from landlines and most mobiles.

What is the function of ChildLine?

ChildLine is an administrative agency run through the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare whose function is to protect the safety and well being of children from abuse and neglect.

Can you make a CPS report online?

Call: 1-800-252-5400. If you can't use the Texas Abuse Hotline you can: Report online at www. Tell the relay agent you need to call the Texas Abuse Hotline at 1-800-252-5400.

What are the 4 types of mandatory reporters?

In some jurisdictions it is mandatory to report suspicions of each of the four classical types of abuse and neglect abuse (i.e., physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse and neglect).

How many hours does the agency have to report suspected abuse?


All persons are required to make the report immediately, and individuals who are licensed or certified by the state or who work for an agency or facility licensed or certified by the state and have contact with children as a result of their normal duties, such as teachers, nurses, doctors, and day-care employees, must

What happens if a mandated reporter doesn t report?

In almost ALL states, there are criminal penalties for mandated reporters who willfully fail to make a report when required by law. In most states, failure to report is a misdemeanor offense, usually punishable by fine. In some states, misdemeanor offenses can carry a sentence of jail time or probation.

What happens after a CPS report is filed?

If CPS determines that there may be abuse or neglect, a report will be registered, and then CPS will begin an investigation. CPS will most-likely also make a report to the police. After this, the police may conduct their own investigation (the investigation will usually occur within 24 hours of a report).

Can a mandated reporter remain anonymous?

Can I report the abuse or neglect anonymously? No. Mandated reporters must identify themselves to the county child welfare department when making child abuse or neglect reports. However, persons who are not legally mandated may make anonymous reports.

Can CPS disclose who reported you?

The Department of Children and Families (DCF) is not allowed to tell you the name of the person who reported you. Some people who work with children have to report to DCF when they think a child is being abused or neglected.

Does emotional abuse need to be reported?


Finally, emotional abuse is most often reported along with concerns of other types of abuse; any child who is being physically abused, sexually abused, or neglected is also being emotionally abused. Reporting laws require a report be made when a mandated reporter has a “reasonable suspicion” of abuse.

What should be reported to CPS?

If you suspect a child has been physically abused, you should call CPS. You might notice bruises, cuts or other signs of physical injury on their body. Another reason to call CPS is a suspicion of sexual abuse or exploitation. Finally, if you think a child may be neglected, make the call.

What agency has the responsibility of receiving and investigating alleged reports of abuse?

Under Pennsylvania law, it is the responsibility of the county children and youth agency to investigate reports of child abuse and neglect or assess a family for General Protective Services.