What states did the Trail of Tears go through?

Asked By: Neal Remizov | Last Updated: 30th April, 2020
Category: events and attractions historic site and landmark tours
3.9/5 (32 Views . 20 Votes)
The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail passes through the present-day states of Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.

Click to see full answer

In this regard, where does the Trail of Tears begin and end?

General Winfield Scott sped the removal along as well as put many Indians into stockades along the way. The Trail of Tears found its end in Oklahoma. Nearly a fourth of the Cherokee population died along the march. It ended around March of 1839.

Beside above, how long was the Trail of Tears? It eventually took almost three months to cross the 60 miles (97 kilometres) on land between the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. The trek through southern Illinois is where the Cherokee suffered most of their deaths.

Similarly one may ask, what was the route of the Trail of Tears?

The Trail of Tears was the name the Cherokee gave to the route they were forced to travel as a result of the Indian Removal Act. The Trail of Tears route ran from their land in the East to the reservation land west of the Mississippi - it was a 1000 mile march.

Where is the Trail of Tears in Oklahoma?

The 20,800-acre refuge includes the confluence of the Canadian and Arkansas rivers (in east-central Oklahoma) and the surrounding floodplain. Along this stretch of the Arkansas River, the Cherokee detachment led by John Drew headed upriver during the Trail of Tears period of 1838-1839.

38 Related Question Answers Found

How much money do Cherokee get?

A Cherokee born today would stand to receive at least $168,000 when he or she turns 18. The tribe pays for financial training classes for both high school students and adults. It is not a requirement that tribal members drawing checks live on the reservation, though approximately 10,000 do.

Is there an Indian reservation in Texas?

Because of this, and despite the state's enormous size, only three reservations exist in Texas today. The Alabama-Coushatta Indian Reservation is just east of Houston, and the two other tribes – the Tiguas and the Kickapoo – both live in the valley of the Rio Grande.

Who can buy a house on an Indian reservation?

And no one can get a mortgage because the property on the reservation is held in trust by the federal government; most of it also is “owned” communally by the tribe. No bank could ever foreclose on a property, because the bank can't own reservation land.

Where did the Cherokee come from?

The Cherokees are original residents of the American southeast region, particularly Georgia, North and South Carolina, Virginia, Kentucky, and Tennessee. Here is a map showing the location of the original Cherokee territory. Most Cherokees were forced to move to Oklahoma in the 1800's along the Trail of Tears.

How did the Trail of Tears impact America?

The Indian Removal Act and its major consequence, the Trail of Tears, resulted in the further genocide and forced displacement of indigenous peoples living in their homelands southeast of the Mississippi, as well as the further colonization of indigenous people and land west of the Mississippi River.

Can you walk the Trail of Tears?

There are three major land routes and one water route. The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, which follows the northern route, crosses nine states and covers over 2,000 miles. To hike the entire Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, you must get permission for the areas that are on private property.

Which Indian Tribe was the most aggressive?

That was the Comanche frontier and it stayed more or less intact for 40 years, during the hardest and bloodiest Indian war Americans ever fought.

How many states have Indian reservations?

There are 573 federally recognized American Indian and Alaska Native tribes and villages that occupy about 56.2 million acres of reservations and tribal areas that are held in trust by the United States. Sixteen states have no federally recognized tribes, and most of those states are in the East and South.

How many different routes did the Cherokee use?

The Cherokee travelled in groups of 1000 to 3000 people on three main routes. Different groups started in Chattanooga, Tennessee; Guntersville, Alabama; and Charleston, Tennessee. Most Cherokees had to walk; others, if they were wealthy men, could use wagons.

When did the Trail of Tears start?


Where did the Indian Removal Act take place?

The Indian Removal Act was signed into law by President Andrew Jackson on May 28, 1830, authorizing the president to grant unsettled lands west of the Mississippi in exchange for Indian lands within existing state borders. A few tribes went peacefully, but many resisted the relocation policy.

What does trail of tears mean?

Trail of Tears. The route along which the United States government forced several tribes of Native Americans, including the Cherokees, Seminoles, Chickasaws, Choctaws, and Creeks, to migrate to reservations west of the Mississippi River in the 1820s, 1830s, and 1840s.

Where is the Trail of Tears in Tennessee?

The park is located on a bluff that overlooks Blythe Ferry, where 9,000 Cherokee and Creek were encamped while waiting to cross the Tennessee River on their way to Indian Territory. Site Information: During 1838 and 1839, Cherokee passed through the present-day park as part of the Trail of Tears' Northern Route.

What did the Indian Removal Act do?

The Indian Removal Act was signed into law on May 28, 1830, by United States President Andrew Jackson. The law authorized the president to negotiate with southern Native American tribes for their removal to federal territory west of the Mississippi River in exchange for white settlement of their ancestral lands.

What tribes were involved in the Trail of Tears?

Trail of Tears, in U.S. history, the forced relocation during the 1830s of Eastern Woodlands Indians of the Southeast region of the United States (including Cherokee, Creek, Chickasaw, Choctaw, and Seminole, among other nations) to Indian Territory west of the Mississippi River.

Where did the Cherokees moved to on the Trail of Tears?

Trail of Tears. In 1838 Cherokee people were forcibly moved from their homeland and relocated to Indian Territory, now Oklahoma. They resisted their Removal by creating their own newspaper, The Cherokee Phoenix, as a platform for their views.