What do you need to get married in Nashville?

Asked By: Wessal Marzano | Last Updated: 7th May, 2020
Category: family and relationships marriage and civil unions
3.9/5 (23 Views . 22 Votes)
You will need a valid driver's license, certified birth certificate, or valid passport to get married in Tennessee. You must also provide your Social Security number; this is a non-negotiable requirement. Passports are acceptable identification for those who are not U.S. citizens.

Click to see full answer


Also, what do you need to get married in Nashville TN?

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE Proof of Social Security Number, such as social security card or tax document with social security number listed. Passports and birth certificates do not meet this criteria.

Beside above, what do I need to get married at courthouse? To get married in court, contact your local courthouse about getting a marriage license, and gather the necessary documents, like a driver's license. Fill out the application and required paperwork for the license, and pay the fee before submitting your application to the court.

Similarly, it is asked, can you get married at the courthouse in TN?

If you want to get married in Tennessee, you and your future spouse must get a marriage license from the local county clerk's office. Bring your ID or birth certificate to prove your date of birth and proof of your social security number (if you have one). The marriage license fee is around $100 in most counties.

Do you have to make an appointment to get married at the courthouse?

Answer: To schedule an appointment to get married at the courthouse, the first thing you'll want to do is call the courthouse you plan to get married at. Usually, this is just the one in your county.

39 Related Question Answers Found

Can you get married the same day you get your marriage license?

In general, you can get a marriage licence on the same day that you apply. On your wedding day, you must give your marriage licence to the officiant (the person performing the marriage). You apply for a marriage certificate after you get married.

Can you be denied a marriage license?

Although marriage license laws vary widely from state to state, all states require a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a valid union. Therefore, states cannot deny marriage licenses to couples solely due to their race.

Can I get a marriage license online?

You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via "City Clerk Online". This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. Your Marriage License will be processed while you wait.

Do you have to have a witness to get married in Tennessee?

Tennessee: Witnesses are not needed for the marriage to be recognized, but there is room on the marriage license for one witness to sign. Texas: Witnesses are not required by Texas law. Utah: Two (2) witnesses over 18 must also be present at the wedding ceremony.

Can you apply for a marriage license online in Tennessee?


It is very easy to get a marriage license in Tennessee. You can pre-apply online up to 30 days before your wedding. You can also apply in person at one of the Tennessee Marriage License Centers and complete the form there with the help of an employee of the County Clerk's Office.

Can you lie on your marriage license application?

According to most state and country laws, it is illegal to lie when you are filling out your marriage license application. However, the lie does not necessarily invalidate your marriage.

Is there a waiting period to get married in Tennessee?

General Information. Before a marriage can occur in Tennessee, a license must be obtained from the County Clerk. There is no waiting period, the marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days from issuance, and is good for ceremonies performed anywhere in Tennessee.

What documents do I need to get married in Tennessee?

You will need a valid driver's license, certified birth certificate, or valid passport to get married in Tennessee. You must also provide your Social Security number; this is a non-negotiable requirement. Passports are acceptable identification for those who are not U.S. citizens.

Do you exchange rings at a courthouse wedding?

Courthouse Wedding Without Rings
They might simply want to keep the marriage to themselves for a while so there is no reason to exchange and wear rings. Usually, the formal ceremony is a few months later so they will exchange the rings there.

Can a notary marry someone in TN?


For example, Tennessee is one of only four states that does not recognize marriages solemnized by people who are ordained only for the purpose of performing a ceremony. Clergy, some state and local politicians and some judges can legally perform a wedding ceremony in Tennessee.

How many times can you legally get married in Tennessee?

The only limit on the number of times you can get married in Tennessee is that state law imposes a mandatory 60-day “cooling off” period every time you apply for a divorce. (It's 90 days if there are any children involved.)

Can you marry your cousin in Tennessee?

Common law marriage is not recognized by Tennessee law. Same sex marriage is not allowed. According to Tennessee law, you may marry a first cousin because you are not a descendant of the cousin.

What is the meaning of common law wife?

What is Common Law Marriage: A Definition. A common law marriage is one in which the couple lives together for a period of time and holds themselves out to friends, family and the community as "being married," but without ever going through a formal ceremony or getting a marriage license.

What is the fee to get married?


If the couple has completed a qualifying premarital education program, the marriage license fee is $27. Without certification of a premarital education program, the marriage license fee is $67.

Do you need Social Security card for marriage license?

To obtain a marriage license you need: Identification: a picture ID such as a driver's license, state ID card, or valid passport; both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards. Fees: $93.50.

How much do it cost for marriage license?

U.S. Marriage License Application Fees. Fees for marriage licenses range from a low of $10 to as much as $115. The cost varies based on county, city or municipality, residential status, and in some cases, completion of a pre-marital counseling or education course. A few states, have standard, statewide fees.