Which US state comes last alphabetically?

Asked By: Batirtze Biederstadt | Last Updated: 2nd March, 2020
Category: travel north america travel
4.9/5 (687 Views . 22 Votes)
The most recent state—Hawaii—achieved statehood on August 21, 1959.

List of 50 States In Alphabetical Order.
Alabama Alaska
Hawaii Idaho
Massachusetts Michigan
New Mexico New York
South Dakota Tennessee

Click to see full answer

Keeping this in consideration, what US state capital is alphabetically last?

The capital of New Jersey has the distinction of being the alphabetically last state capital. Although Wyoming is the alphabetically last state, its capital, Cheyenne, falls near the front of the alphabet. Other end-of-the-alphabet capitals include Topeka, Kansas, and Tallahassee, Florida.

One may also ask, is states in alphabetical order? States of the United States. The 50 U.S. states, in alphabetical order, along with each state's flag: Alabama. Alaska.

Keeping this in consideration, what are all 50 states in alphabetical order?

Below is a list of the fifty U.S. states in alphabetical order:

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Arizona.
  • Arkansas.
  • California.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.

What are the 52 states in the United States?

U.S. States & Territories

  • Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas.
  • California, Colorado, Connecticut.
  • Delaware, District of Columbia.
  • Florida.
  • Georgia, Guam.
  • Hawaii.
  • Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa.
  • Kansas, Kentucky.

37 Related Question Answers Found

What is the capital of all the 50 states?

Washington, D.C.

What are the 50 capitals?

U.S. State Capitals List
  • Alabama (AL) - Montgomery.
  • Alaska (AK) - Juneau.
  • Arizona (AZ) - Phoenix.
  • Arkansas (AR) - Little Rock.
  • California (CA) - Sacramento.
  • Colorado (CO) - Denver.
  • Connecticut (CT) - Hartford.
  • Delaware (DE) - Dover.

What is the capital of all the states?

Washington, D.C.

What is the capital of every state in the United States?

Each state is listed below with its corresponding capital, state bird, and state flower:
  • Alabama Capital: Montgomery.
  • Alaska Capital: Juneau.
  • Arizona Capital: Phoenix.
  • Arkansas Capital: Little Rock.
  • California Capital: Sacramento.
  • Colorado Capital: Denver.
  • Connecticut Capital: Hartford.
  • Delaware Capital: Dover.

What state has the most states bordering it?

Answer and Explanation:
Tennessee and Missouri are tied with one another for the state that borders the most other states.

What is the abbreviation for all 50 states?

State Abbreviations
US State: Abbreviation:
Alabama AL
Alaska AK
Arizona AZ
Arkansas AR

Is Washington DC a state or a capital?

WASHINGTON, D.C. Washington DC is not one of the 50 states. But it's an important part of the U.S. The District of Columbia is our nation's capital. Congress established the federal district from land belonging to the states of Maryland and Virginia in 1790.

Will there be a 51st state?

Puerto Rico has been discussed as a potential 51st state of the United States. In a 2012 status referendum a majority of voters, 54%, expressed dissatisfaction with the current political relationship. On January 4, 2017, Puerto Rico's new representative to Congress pushed a bill that would ratify statehood by 2025.

What is the 25th state in alphabetical order?

Dates of Succession to the Union
1 Delaware 1787
25 Arkansas 1836
26 Michigan 1837
27 Florida 1845
28 Texas 1845

Is California A California?

Calif., Cal. California is a state in the Pacific Region of the United States. With 39.5 million residents across a total area of about 163,696 square miles (423,970 km2), California is the most populous U.S. state and the third-largest by area. The state capital is Sacramento.

How many M states are there?

Of the 50 US states, 8 begin with the letter M. Eight of the states which make up the United States have names which start with the letter “M.” These states are, in no particular order, Maryland, Michigan, Montana, Missouri, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Minnesota, and Maine.

Are there 50 or 52 states?

Originally Answered: How many states are in the United States, 50 or 52? There are currently 50 U.S. states, plus Washington, D.C., which is the federal capital of the United States. The U.S. also has 14 territories, five of which are permanently inhabited.

What is the 50th state?

Alaska and Hawaii became the 49th and 50th states of the USA only after world war two.

How many states and territories does the US have?

The United States of America is a federal republic consisting of 50 states, a federal district (Washington, D.C., the capital city of the United States), five major territories, and various minor islands.

Is there a state that starts with B?

No states except Alabama and Nebraska have a B in their name, and California and Florida are the only state names that contain F.