What regions are in France?

Asked By: Harpreet Esmeraldo | Last Updated: 21st March, 2020
Category: travel europe travel
4.5/5 (80 Views . 20 Votes)
Cultural and climatic differences allow a classification of all French regions by cardinal directions:
  • Northern France: Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, Picardy.
  • Eastern France: Alsace, Champagne, Franche-Comté, Lorraine, Rhône-Alpes.
  • Western France: Aquitaine, Brittany, Pays de la Loire, Poitou-Charentes.

Click to see full answer

Also question is, what are the 13 regions of France?

The 13 regions of metropolitan France (since 2016)

  • Auvergne - Rhône-Alpes.
  • Bretagne (Brittany)
  • Bourgogne - Franche-Comté
  • Corse (Corsica)
  • Centre - Val de Loire.
  • Grand Est (Alsace, Champagne, Lorraine)
  • Hauts de France ( Nord Pas-de-Calais - Picardie)
  • Ile de France (Paris)

One may also ask, what European region is France? The Four European Regions As Defined By The United Nations Geoscheme For Europe

Eastern Europe Northern Europe Western Europe
Czech Republic Estonia France
Republic of Moldova Faroe Islands Germany
Poland Finland Liechtenstein
Hungary Guernsey Luxembourg

Additionally, how many regions are there in France?

13 regions

What are the 5 overseas regions of France?

The five overseas regions of France are:

  • Guadeloupe (Caribbean)
  • Martinique (Caribbean)
  • French Guiana (South America)
  • Mayotte (Indian Ocean)
  • Réunion (Indian Ocean)

39 Related Question Answers Found

How is France divided into regions?

The territory of France is administered via these four levels: the Nation, Region, Department and Commune. There are 102 departments, grouped into 18 Regions. Every Region is divided into communes, with a commune roughly equating to a township.

What are the 22 regions of France?

Regions of France
  • Avignon - Provence Region.
  • Bordeaux - Aquitaine Region.
  • Dijon - Burgundy Region.
  • French Alps Region.
  • Loire Valley - Pays De La Loire Region.
  • Lyon - Rhone Alpes Region.
  • Nice & Cannes - French Riviera Region.
  • Normandy - Normandy Region.

How old is France?

So France is old. A bit over 1600 years old, or just over 1000, or almost 600, or about 400, or just over 200, depending on how you count.

How many regions does France have including overseas?

Mainland France is now divided into 13 + 5 overseas administrative regions, the government agreed on a major administrative reorganisation of the country. Metropolitan France is divided into 22+ 5 overseas administrative regions.

What is France known for?

What is France Famous for? France is also famous for the Tour de France and the Eiffel. Famous Landmarks of Paris. Symbols such as the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, the Cathedral of Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter, Montmartre, and the Georges Pompidou Center make Paris one of the most visited places in the world.

Are there provinces in France?

The provinces of France were roughly equivalent to the historic counties of England. They came into their final form over the course of many hundreds of years, as many dozens of semi-independent fiefs and former independent countries came to be incorporated into the French royal domain.

Is France a state or country?

listen)), is a country whose territory consists of metropolitan France in Western Europe and several overseas regions and territories.

French Republic République française (French)
Capital and largest city Paris 48°51′N 2°21′E
Official language and national language French

Is France Protestant or Catholic?

Major religions practised in France include Christianity (Catholicism, various branches of Protestantism, Eastern Orthodoxy, Armenian Orthodoxy), Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Sikhism amongst others, making it a multiconfessional country.

What are the 18 regions of France?

The regions that changed are:
  • Grand-Est (Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne and Lorraine)
  • Nouvelle-Aquitaine (Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes)
  • Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.
  • Bourgogne-Franche-Comté
  • Occitanie (Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées)
  • Hauts-de-France (combining Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardie)

What are the five regions of Europe?

?Like any geography, Europe can also be divided into 5 parts - Northern Europe, Southern Europe, Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Central Europe.

What is the largest region in France?

By population
Rank Region Population (2016)
1 Île-de-France 12,117,132
2 Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes 7,916,889
3 Hauts-de-France 6,006,870
4 Nouvelle-Aquitaine 5,935,603

What is French wine called?

Here are some of France's top wine values, including the types of wine and whether they're red or white: Alsace Riesling (white) Côte Chalonnaise Burgundy (red/white) Beaujolais-Villages (red) Côte de Bourg Bordeaux (red)

Which number is associated with Paris?

The steady stream of tourists passing through the Louvre, Notre Dame and Eiffel Tower is a constant part of the Parisian pulse. Repeatedly, France ranks #1 as the most visited country in the world, and Paris claims to receive more tourists than any other city on the planet. In 2014, that number surpassed 32 million.

Are there states in France?

There actually are simple France does not have states; it has 101 departments. It formerly had provinces.

What are the types of French wine?

Most varieties of grape are primarily associated with a certain region, such as Cabernet Sauvignon in Bordeaux and Syrah in Rhône, although there are some varieties that are found in two or more regions, such as Chardonnay in Bourgogne (including Chablis) and Champagne, and Sauvignon blanc in Loire and Bordeaux.

What is Strasbourg France famous for?

Strasbourg plays a major role as a business, commercial, and cultural centre. Besides its traditional role as the chief city of Alsace, Strasbourg is also the seat of a number of European institutions and bodies including the European Parliament, the Council of Europe, and the European Court of Human Rights.