What is the difference between Act 31 and Act 126?

Asked By: Karola Naro | Last Updated: 6th February, 2020
Category: family and relationships adoption and fostering
5/5 (459 Views . 26 Votes)
Mandated Reporter Training
Per Act 126, mandated reporters must take a 3 hour training on Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse every five years. Act 31 requires all employees licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of State take a 2-3 hour training on Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse every two years.

Click to see full answer

Also question is, what is the purpose of Act 126?

Act 126 of 2012 ("Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training") amended the Public School Code of 1949 to mandate that all school entities and independent contractors of school entities provide their employees who have direct contact with children with a minimum of three hours of training every five years on child

One may also ask, how long is a mandatory reporter certificate good for? 5 years

Likewise, people ask, how often do you need to do mandated reporter training?

While all mandatory reporters employed by LEAs must complete training each year, I also recommend refresher training. With large staff turnover in the past five years statewide, we must capture the attention of all new employees and administer training as soon as possible after hiring per EC 44691(b).

What is an Act 33 clearance?

In order to comply with Pennsylvania legislation (ACT 153), your position requires that you secure a new Act 33 Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance every 60 months. You are required to provide original documentation of this clearance by the. expiration date provided to you by Human Resources.

33 Related Question Answers Found

How do I get Act 126 clearance?

Mandated Reporter Training
Per Act 126, mandated reporters must take a 3 hour training on Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse every five years. Act 31 requires all employees licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of State take a 2-3 hour training on Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse every five years.

How do I get Act 34 clearance?

To access your Official Clearance you will see a blue text "CERTIFICATION PAGE". Click on the blue text to access your Act 34 Pennsylvania State Police Clearance. Print and save the official clearance for your records and submit a copy to the Human Resources Department.

How long does a mandated reporter have to report in PA?

The recent amendments to CPSL allows mandated reporters to make a written report online. If you make an oral report to ChildLine you must follow-up with a written report, which may be submitted electronically, within 48 hours.

How do you do a mandated report?

Currently, only mandated reporters may make a report electronically. Everyone is encouraged to make a report if they have reasonable cause to suspect that a child is victim of abuse. Those people who are not mandated reporters can make a report by calling ChildLine at 800-932-0313.

What is required of a mandated reporter?

A mandated reporter is a person who, because of his or her profession, is legally required to report any suspicion of child abuse or neglect to the relevant authorities. These laws are in place to prevent children from being abused and to end any possible abuse or neglect at the earliest possible stage.

What is ab1207?

AB 1207 — Mandated reporter training for child care centers
AB 1207 (Chapter 414, Statutes of 2015) requires all licensed child day care providers, administrators, and employees of licensed child day care facilities to be trained regarding detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect.

How long is DCF training?

This training is required yearly. Approximate time to complete the course: 12 minutes.

How many sections are in the mandated reporter training?

The new Mandated Reporter Training for Child Care Providers does now satisfy the requirements of AB 1207. Followed by the general training module, the Child Care Providers module is a three hour training that includes eight sections. Each section will include practice test questions or vignettes.

Are volunteers mandated reporters?

Typically, Mandated Reporters include physicians, counselors, teachers, clergy members, health practitioners, caregivers, or employees of a county adult protective services agency or a local law enforcement agency. As a volunteer working with the elderly, our volunteers are mandated by law to report any abuse.

Who is considered a mandated reporter?

All doctors, nurses, midwives, police, teachers and boarding supervisors who form a belief that child sexual abuse has occurred or is occurring, during the course of paid or unpaid work are mandatory reporters.

How often do child care providers require mandated reporter training?

(2) A person specified in paragraph (1) who becomes a licensee, administrator, or employee of a licensed child day care facility shall take renewal mandated reporter training every two years following the date on which he or she completed the initial mandated reporter training.

What is a mandated reporter certificate?

Mandated Reporter Certificate. The Mandated Reporter Certificate is designed to help early childhood and school-age professionals understand their responsibilities as mandated reporters, who must report any suspicion of child maltreatment. Define major types and identify indicators of child neglect.

Do mandated reporters have to report when not working?

Criminal law provides strong penalties for failing to make a report. In almost ALL states, there are criminal penalties for mandated reporters who willfully fail to make a report when required by law.

Is a mandatory reporter required to submit an oral report?

The law requires you to report suspected child abuse to the DHS orally within 24 hours of becoming aware of the situation. As a mandatory reporter, you are also required to make an oral report to law enforcement if you have reason to believe that immediate protection of the child is necessary.

How long do mandated reporters have to report?

State law will dictate how soon you are required to make the report. Some state laws specify that a report must be made immediately after you have reason to believe; some state laws specify within 24 or 48 hours. Sometimes you may be asked to also submit a written report after calling in.

How do you make a report to DHS?

Reports can be made at any time to the DHS Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-522-3511. The hotline is available 24 hours-a-day, 7 days-a-week.

How long is the mandated reporter certificate good for in NY?

The “Infection Control & Barrier Precautions” certificate is valid for four years, but it must be kept on file for six years in the event your license is audited. The “Child Abuse: New York Mandated Reporter Training” certificate is a one-time requirement for initial licensure.