What is criminal trespassing in TN?
Considering this, is trespassing a felony in Tennessee?
Aggravated criminal trespass is a Class A misdemeanor if committed in a habitation, hospital, or at a public or private school, and a Class B misdemeanor if committed anywhere else. The authorized penalties for misdemeanors are as follows: Class C Misdemeanor: not more than 30 days in jail* and a $50 fine.
Subsequently, question is, how much time do you get for criminal trespassing? If it is trespass on property, it is a Class B misdemeanor which means up to 6 months in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. If it is trespass to a habitation, then it is a Class A misdemeanor which means up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
Simply so, what kind of charge is criminal trespassing?
Penalties for Criminal Trespass Criminal trespass is related to burglary but is generally considered to be a less serious crime. It's often a misdemeanor or an infraction. In many states, though, it can even be a felony.
What is a Class A felony in Tennessee?
Class A Felonies They are punishable by 15 to 60 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. For example, aggravated rape (rape that causes injury to the victim, or where the defendant is armed with a weapon or aided by others) is a class A felony. (Tenn. Code Ann.