What is a Level 3 security license?

Asked By: Jarein Manresa | Last Updated: 24th January, 2020
Category: business and finance government business
4.5/5 (66 Views . 17 Votes)
Level 3: This is the Required Level to Be Able to Carry a Gun. This is a 45 hour class in which you must pass a written test to become certified to carry a gun. However they cannot carry the gun until the security company sends in the certificate with the application for the armed security pocket card.

Click to see full answer


Consequently, how much does a Level 3 security license cost?

The Level III Commissioned Security Officer Training Class (Level III) is a 45 Hour Class for 6 Days and costs $200.00. The price includes: Classroom Fee. Range Fee.

Secondly, what are the requirements in Texas to become a Level 3 security guard? The Level III Training Course (minimum 45 hours) and test (including course of fire) is required for all* commissioned security officers and personal protection officers. This training course must be administered by a licensed Level III Training School and taught by a licensed Level III Instructor.

People also ask, what is a Level 3 commissioned security officer?

The Level III (Level 3), 45 hour security guard training class is what you take if you are looking to carry a firearm as a Commissioned Armed Security Guard in Texas. This security course, as required by the State of Texas Private Security Bureau, will include a classroom session and a firearms range qualification.

What is a Level 4 security officer?

Description: The Level IV is the required course in order to be a personal protection officer in the state of Texas. This class will equip the student with a better understanding of state laws relating to body guarding.

24 Related Question Answers Found

How much do armed security guards make in Texas?

The average salary for a Armed Security Officer is $27,244 in Dallas-Fort Worth, TX. Salaries estimates are based on 588 salaries submitted anonymously to Glassdoor by Armed Security Officer employees in Dallas-Fort Worth, TX.

How much is it to renew your security license?

After receiving the form, complete it and submit it along with your renewal payment. As of May 2018, the renewal fee is $25. You may pay by check, money order or credit card.

Can security guards carry guns in Texas?

Under Texas law, law enforcement officers and LTC-licensed judges can carry firearms almost anywhere, whether they are on or off duty. On duty security officers must operate by security officer, not LTC, rules. An on-duty officer must be properly certified to carry a handgun or club.

How do I get my armed security license in Texas?

To become a licensed security guard in the state of Texas, you must first complete the Level II Training Course and Test. All commissioned and non-commissioned (armed and unarmed) security officers must go through this training. The training must be taken at a licensed school and taught by a licensed instructor.

What is a Level 2 Non Commissioned security officer?


Level II (Level 2) Non Commissioned Security, or Unarmed Security, is the introductory 6-hour class that covers the basics of becoming a Non Commissioned or Unarmed Security Guard in Texas. This security training course provides the Level 2 training as required by the State of Texas.

How much does it cost to renew your security license in Texas?

Those applying for licensure as a commissioned security officer must pay an application fee of $55. Every two years the Texas security guard's registration must be renewed. The renewal fee is $33 with an additional $15 late fee if the renewal is up to 90 days late and $30 when the renewal is over 90 days late.

How much does it cost to start a security company in Texas?

Basic Startup Costs
A few of the estimated basic costs include: Incorporation fee in the U.S.: $750.

How do you become a bodyguard?

To become a bodyguard, you'll need to be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and have your first-aid and CPR certification. You can then enroll in bodyguard training classes, which will cover things like tactical skills, weapons, counter-surveillance, and advanced driving techniques.

What does non commissioned security officer mean?

Non-commissioned are unarmed officers, duties are limited to the functions of observation and reporting. Non-commissioned security guards are a popular choice when the threat level is low and/or the use of an armed officer could cause undo concern.

What can a Level 2 security guard carry?


As a Level 2 Non-commissioned Security Officer you're allowed to carry the following:
  • Flashlight.
  • Handcuffs.
  • Pepper Spray (if certified)- lots of wrong information being out about OC- ask us we will set you straight.
  • Conductive Energy Weapon (license not required but training is highly recommend)
  • Stun guns.

How many types of security guards are there?

There are three main types of security officers working for private and public businesses and individuals: government, in-house, and those working contractually for private security firms. Within those three main types, there are even more options – armed and unarmed, plainclothes or uniformed, on-site or remote.

What can stop you from getting a security license?

Most states look for previous felony convictions, not misdemeanors or petty crimes. A criminal record may keep you from getting your guard card, although some states allow for extenuating circumstances. You should check with your particular state's security guard licensing agency for more details.

What is Texas Private Security License?

The Texas Private Security Bureau determines the specific requirements necessary for those wanting to enter the security sector. Once requirements are met, the state issues the unarmed or armed security license. Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Texas. The applicant must be 18 years or older.

How long does it take to get a security license in Texas?

Texas security licensing requirements
It may take DPS a few weeks to as long as 45 days to process your paperwork and conduct a background check on you.

How do I get my armed security guard license?


Enroll in and complete an unarmed guard training course approved by your state. The exact amount of training hours you need varies by state, and not all states require the unarmed guard training as a prerequisite to getting the armed guard card. Take a state approved firearms training course.

Where do I get my security guard license?

In California, security guards are licensed by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS). In order to get a security guard license (guard card), you must first complete a pre-licensing course, often referred to as a “guard card class”. The guard card class is 8 hours long and can be completed in one day.

How much does a security guard make?

A Security Guard can earn a salary of between 16000 to 24000 depending on education and experience. Security Guards can expect an average compensation of Twenty Six Thousand Four Hundred dollars every year.