What documents do you need to renew your driver's license in WV?

Asked By: Kermit Homrighausen | Last Updated: 2nd June, 2020
Category: automotive auto insurance
4.8/5 (154 Views . 33 Votes)
Effective at the beginning of the year, West Virginians renewing their licenses must have one proof of identity, one proof of Social Security number, two proofs of West Virginia residency documents and name change documents if their name has changed in accordance with federal standards.

Click to see full answer

Furthermore, what do I need to bring to the DMV to renew my license?

  1. Identification documents and proof of legal presence: California state ID.
  2. SSN.
  3. 2 proofs of California residency - mortgage or utility bills (including phone bills), rental or lease agreement, bank statements.
  4. (If applicable) Legal documents stating name change.

Additionally, how much does it cost to renew your driver's license in WV? Your renewal fee and year of expiration will appear on your renewal card as well. All driver's license renewal fees will be based on the number of years you will have a driver's license until your age is divisible by five (25, 30, 35, 40, etc.), at a rate of $5.00 per year plus .

In this manner, what can I use as proof of residency at the DMV WV?

New Applicants, Transfers, and Expired License Applicants are required to provide one proof of identity, one proof of Social Security number, two proofs of WV residency with name and physical address, and proof of legal name change document(s) if your name has ever changed.

Do I need to bring anything to renew my license?

What to bring: Your renewal notice and your current licence or permit. If you don't have your licence or permit card you'll need to have other evidence of identity documents. Payment for your renewal fee (you can pay by VISA, Mastercard*, cheque, EFTPOS or cash)

29 Related Question Answers Found

Can I walk into the DMV to renew my license?

A: Yes. Do this the old-fashioned way. An appointment is not necessary to renew a driver's license. Just walk into a DMV office anytime before your expiration date.

What can I use as proof of residency at the DMV?

A few examples of acceptable documents to prove California residency are:
  • Rental or lease agreement with the signature of the owner/landlord and the tenant/resident.
  • Deed or title to residential real property.
  • Mortgage bill.
  • Home utility bills (including cellular phone)
  • Medical documents.
  • Employee documents.

How much does it cost to get my license?

Learner licence
The cost is $48.20 for the application and $45.70 for the test fee, giving a total of $93.90. L plates are usually around $10 and you can get them from supermarkets and automotive suppliers.

Do you have to take a new picture when you renew your license?

You can update the photo on your driver license, learner permit, or non-driver photo ID card when you renew the document. The DMV will take a new photograph of you at the office. There is no additional fee to update your photo when you renew your photo document.

Do you have to take a written test when you renew your license?

Take a written test, if necessary: you can find out if you must take this by looking at your renewal notice. The test includes questions on traffic laws and road signs. You are allowed 3 chances to pass the exam.

Do you have to retake the test to renew your license?

Renewal license issued after the expiration of original license does not require examination if renewed within 3 years of expiration. Renewal of license may occur from 60 days (effective August 1, 2016, 180 days) prior to expiration to 3 years after date; afterwards, applicant required to take and pass examination.

What do I need to bring to the DMV to replace my license?

What Should You Bring to the California DMV to Replace a Lost Drivers License?
  1. Proof of your identity for a drivers license or non-driver identification card replacement.
  2. You'll need a social security card or verification of your social security number.

What are two forms of proof of residency?

Things You'll Need
  • Government-issued photo ID.
  • Residential lease/property deed.
  • Utility bill.
  • Letter from the government/court (marriage license, divorce, government aid)
  • Bank statement.
  • Driver's license/learner's permit.
  • Car registration.
  • Notarized affidavit of residency.

Will a bank statement work as proof of residency for DMV?

Examples of acceptable documents to prove California residency are: rental or lease agreements with the signature of the owner/landlord and the tenant/resident, deeds or titles to residential real property, mortgage bills, home utility bills (including cellular phone), and medical or employee documents.

Does a bank statement count as proof of address?

These documents may vary, but generally, the following documents clearly showing your full legal name and address are acceptable: A lease or mortgage statement. A bank or credit card statement. A utility bill.

What counts as proof of address DMV?

These “proofs of residency” usually come in the form of other government ID (showing an address), utility bill, lease agreement, or any valid document showing an address with the resident's name.

How much does a WV ID cost?

The fee for an original or renewed West Virginia ID card is: $5.00 per year PLUS $0.50. $5 for 2 years (for a youth ID card). $10 for a REAL ID card, in addition to the fees above.

Will the DMV accept electronic proof of residency?

DMV will not accept an application without one accompanying residency document. DMV will accept photocopies, “informational copies,” or computer-generated documents for residency purposes.

Can a check stub be proof of residency?

What types of documents can I use as evidence of residence? You may use a driver's license or government-issued, non driver's identification. If you do not have this, or the address is not current, then you can take pay stubs, mortgage statement, rental payment statement, utility bill, etc.

What do I need to get a photo ID from DMV?

Requirements
  1. Complete a Driver License or Identification Card Application form.
  2. Present an acceptable Identity document.
  3. Present an acceptable residency document.
  4. Provide your social security number.
  5. Provide your true full name.
  6. Pay the application fee.
  7. Additional information regarding an identification (ID) card.

Does a passport count as proof of residency?

Proof of Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency. Principal designated school officials (PDSO) and all designated school officials (DSOs) must prove that they are U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents. The only acceptable evidence includes one of the following: Copy of U.S. passport (current or expired)

How long do you have to renew your driver's license in WV?

The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) allows you to renew your valid WV driver's license up to 6 months after its expiration date without having to retake any tests. The WV state DMV now has a program for driver license renewal called “Drive for Five". All WV driver licenses will be valid for 5 years.