What are the restrictions for a junior license in PA?

Asked By: Matt Hetzel | Last Updated: 3rd January, 2020
Category: automotive auto safety
5/5 (341 Views . 38 Votes)
If not, a junior license automatically becomes a graduated license upon turning 18. The following restrictions must be followed by drivers using a junior license: No driving between the hours of 11PM and 5AM is allowed unless a parent, guardian, or spouse over 17 years of age accompanies you in the vehicle.

Click to see full answer


Just so, can you drive out of state with a junior license in PA?

Junior License The teen must make a road test appointment (done online at www.dmv.state.pa.us or by calling 1-800-423-5542). With a junior license, teens may drive unsupervised between 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. Outside of these hours, teens may drive if accompanied by a parent, guardian or spouse.

Also, how long does a junior license last in PA? 1 year

Thereof, what are the restrictions of a junior license?

  • You can't drive between the hours of 11 PM and 5 AM without a parent, guardian, person in loco parentis (21 years or older) or spouse (18 years or older) as your front passenger.
  • You cannot have more passengers in the vehicle than the number of seat belts.

How many passengers are allowed in a car with a junior license?

Passenger limitation: Young drivers can have only one non-family member under 18 with them in the vehicle. After six months on the junior license, the restriction rises to no more than three passengers under 18.

34 Related Question Answers Found

Can a junior driver drive out of state?

You may drive outside New York State with your NY State junior learner permit or junior driver license if it is allowed by the laws of the other state. You must obey the junior permit and license restrictions that apply in that state. Check with the police or motor vehicle authorities in the state you will visit.

What is a Cinderella license in PA?

A junior license is available to teens who have held a learner's permit for at least six months. The application for a junior permit must be certified by a parent and include a driving log with 65 hours of supervised driving time, including ten hours of night driving and five hours of driving in inclement weather.

What happens if you get pulled over past curfew?

If caught driving after the curfew, you can be ticketed or have your license suspended. Teens who work late or are driving to and from school events can often get around the curfew if they can provide evidence that they were involved in an approved activity.

Can you drive out of state with a PA permit?

A nonresident who is in possession of a valid learner's permit from their home state may “NOT” operate a Motor Vehicle while traveling through Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania law recognizes valid driver licenses issued in the person's home state, but does not authorize the use of a learner's permit issued in another state.

What happens if you drive past curfew in PA?


As of four days ago — 11 p.m. Tuesday night to be exact — any 16-year-old or 17-year-old caught driving on Pennsylvania roads could have faced fines totaling $80-$90 and as many as two points on his license. The law applies to all learner's permit and junior-license holders.

Can a 17 year old drive out of state?

Answer: The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) told us that minors with a probationary license (formerly known as provisional license) are allowed to drive out of state while those with only a New Jersey learner's permit cannot. The MVC told to us that all driving restrictions stay with you even out of state.

What are the rules for getting your first license?

At age 15, individuals are eligible for a learner's permit.
  • Permit holders may only drive during the day (after 3 months individuals may drive until 10 p.m.) with a licensed driver 21 years or older.
  • Permit holders must also accumulate at least 50 hours (10 at night) of parental/guardian certified driving.

Can you drive by yourself with a junior license?

Junior Driver's License
Teens with junior driver's licenses are allowed to drive on their own, but must follow certain restrictions. Teens may not drive with more than one unrelated passenger under 21. For other trips, they may only drive between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What happens if you get pulled over with a junior license?

Your junior permit, license, or privileges will be suspended for 60 days if you are convicted of one serious traffic violation or two other violations that were committed while you held a junior permit or license. A "serious traffic violation" is normally a violation that carries three or more driver violation points.

Can you drive after 9 with a license?


If you have a junior learner permit, you may drive in upstate New York between the hours of 5 AM and 9 PM only under the direct supervision of a person who is at least age 21 and has a license valid for the vehicle you are driving.

How do I get my full license at 17?

To get a full license with conditions:
  1. You must be at least 17 years old.
  2. You must have held a valid provisional license for at least 6 months.

What is the penalty for driving with a junior license?

Junior Operator Passenger Restriction/Penalties
1st offense: 60 day license suspension. 2nd offense: 180 day license suspension and required attitudinal retraining. Subsequent offense: 1 year license suspension and required attitudinal retraining.

What happens if you get caught with more than one passenger?

The penalty is three demerit points and a fine (or four demerit points if in a school zone). A fine also applies. P1 drivers under 25 must not drive between 11pm and 5am with more than one passenger under the age of 21. The penalty is three demerit points and a fine.

What is a full license?

The State of Maryland's full driver's license is a privilege awarded to drivers who progress through the Rookie Driver graduated licensing system. When provisional license holders successfully meet all requirements, the MVA automatically converts the license to a full driver's license status.

How old do you have to be to drive past 11?


You are also not allowed to drive between 11 pm and 5 am during your first year after getting your license unless you have a licensed parent, a guardian or other adult 25 years old or older in the car with you. With a provisional license, you can drive by yourself between the hours of 5 am and 11 pm.

Where can I drive with a junior license?

In New York City, junior license holders are not permitted to drive. In Nassau and Suffolk counties, junior license holders may drive only to and from school or, from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m., to work or when supervised by a parent, guardian, or driving instructor.

What are the restrictions on a junior license in New York?

Upstate New York junior driver license restrictions
  • without a supervising driver between the hours of 5 AM and 9 PM.
  • there be no more than one passenger under age 21 unless the passengers are members of your immediate family.
  • every passenger wear a seat belt, one seat belt per person.
  • all children under age four ride in federally-approved child safety seat.