What agency is considered an independent federal agency?

Category: business and finance legal services industry
4.1/5 (169 Views . 38 Votes)
An independent federal agency may be defined as any agency established outside of the Executive Office of the President or the 15 executive departments. Since these agencies are not required to report to a higher official within the executive branch, such as a department secretary, they may be considered independent.

Similarly one may ask, what is an example of an independent agency?

Independent agency is a federal agency, commission, or board that is not under the direction of the executive. The Federal Trade Commission and the National Labor Relations Board are examples of an independent agency.

Also Know, is the FDA an independent agency? An independent regulatory agency is separate from the other branches of the federal government. The FDA's mission is to promote public health by regulating the production, distribution, and consumption of food and drugs.

Thereof, what is the most independent federal agency?

Independent Agencies

  • Tennessee Valley Authority.
  • U.S. Agency for Global Media.
  • U.S. Agency for International Development.
  • U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission.
  • U.S. International Trade Commission.
  • U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
  • U.S. Postal Service.
  • U.S. Trade and Development Agency.

What is considered an agency of the federal government?

Federal agencies are special government organizations set up for a specific purpose such as the management of resources, financial oversight of industries, or national security issues. These organizations are typically created by legislative action, but may initially be set up by presidential order as well.

37 Related Question Answers Found

How many independent agencies are there?

The Paperwork Reduction Act lists 19 enumerated "independent regulatory agencies". Generally, the heads of independent regulatory agencies can only be removed for cause, whereas Cabinet members and heads of executive agencies, such as the Environmental Protection Agency, serve "at the pleasure of the president".

What is the purpose of an independent agency?

These are often called independent agencies, since they are not part of the executive departments. The nature and purpose of these agencies vary widely. Some are regulatory groups, with powers to supervise certain sectors of the economy. Others provide special services, either to the government or to the people.

What are the three types of independent agencies?

There are three main types of independent agencies: independent executive agencies, independent regulatory commissions, and government corporations.

What do the independent agencies do?

In general, independent agencies are tasked with administering laws and federal regulations that apply to specific areas such as the environment, social security, homeland security, education, and veteran affairs.

How many independent regulatory agencies are there?

The United States Government Manual lists 96 independent executive units and 220 components of the executive departments. An even more inclusive listing comes from USA.gov, which lists 137 independent executive agencies and 268 units in the Cabinet.

What is an example of an independent regulatory agency?

Independent regulatory agencies are federal agencies created by an act of Congress that are independent of the executive departments. The Consumer Product Safety Commission, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the Federal Communications Commission and the Securities and Exchange Commission are examples of such agencies.

Is the US Postal Service an independent agency?

The United States Postal Service (USPS; also known as the Post Office, U.S. Mail, or Postal Service) is an independent agency of the executive branch of the United States federal government responsible for providing postal service in the United States, including its insular areas and associated states.

What are the independent agencies of the federal government?

List of independent federal agencies
  • Administrative Conference of the United States.
  • Board of Veterans' Appeals (VA)
  • Broadcasting Board of Governors.
  • U.S. Chemical Safety Board.
  • Commodity Futures Trading Commission.
  • Consumer Product Safety Commission.
  • Corporation for National Community Service.

Who are the 15 cabinet members?

Trump's Cabinet includes Vice President Mike Pence and the heads of the 15 executive departments – the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs,

Why did Congress establish regulatory commissions?

Why did Congress initially create independent regulatory commissions such as the Interstate Commerce Commission? To regulate specific economic interests. The Hatch Act regulates: bureaucratic agencies, interest groups, and congressional committees.

How many agencies are in the federal government?

In a 2015 Senate Judiciary Committee hearing, one senator noted that “The Federal Register indicates there are over 430 departments, agencies, and sub-agencies in the federal government.” The online Federal Register Index depicts 257.

What is the best known independent agency?

Central Intelligence Agency

What are the 15 departments?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the

Which of the following is the newest federal agency?

Social Security Administration. Which of these is the newest government agency? Health and Human Services. a department.

What are examples of government agencies?

Examples of these agencies include the Department of Energy (DOE) and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), which is a bureau of the Department of the Treasury. Most federal agencies are created by Congress through statutes called "enabling acts" which define the scope of an agency's authority.