How do you get a chauffeur license in Washington state?

Asked By: Valeriy Heitmann | Last Updated: 19th June, 2020
Category: automotive auto buying and selling
4.9/5 (142 Views . 43 Votes)
To obtain a chauffeur's license in WA, you must:
  1. Be at least 21 years old.
  2. Have a Washington driver's license.
  3. Have successfully completed a training course approved by the Department of Licensing (DOL).
  4. Have passed a written examination.
  5. Pass a criminal background check conducted by the Washington State Patrol.

Click to see full answer

Also to know is, how long does it take to get a drivers license in Washington state?

In order to earn your drivers license, you must: Be a Washington resident at least 16 years old. Enroll in and complete a driver training course. Hold your Washington instruction permit for at least 6 months.

Also, how do you get a limo license? Complete a passenger endorsement commercial driver's license (CDL) application. This credential is also referred to as a chauffeur's permit or “hack” license. CDL applications are available at your local DMV. Submit the CDL application, along with the required processing fee, to the DMV.

Similarly, it is asked, how do I get my license in Washington state?

Steps To Get a License

  1. Drivers must pass a training course.
  2. Get a Washington state learner's permit.
  3. All new drivers must go through at least 50 hours of practice for safety and to gain experience driving.
  4. Pass a driving test at any state-sanctioned testing facility.

Do you need a CDL to drive limo?

To start a career as a limo (limousine) driver, you must have a standard driver's license and then apply for a chauffeur's license. Most positions do not require you to have a CDL. Before you start work, most companies provide a one or two-week training program.

38 Related Question Answers Found

What documents do I need to get a Washington state driver's license?

Proof of your identity (e.g., a valid driver's license or passport) Proof of a valid Social Security number (e.g., a Social Security card or W-2 with your SSN) Proof of Washington state residency. (e.g., a Washington ID or utility bill dated within two months)

Can I get my license online?

Yes, you can go ahead and submit your application for driving licence online. All you have to do is visit the Sarathi website of the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways and follow the below steps. Choose “Apply Online” option and from the drop down choose “New Driving Licence”.

How much does a driver license cost in Washington state?

A standard driver's license or I.D. card costs $54. An enhanced driver's license or I.D. card will cost $78.

Can you take the written driving test online in Washington state?

Washington Permit Practice Test
The DOL written test questions will be multiple-choice, covering road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. Make sure to pre-apply for your test online beforehand or apply at your local DOL, as you will need to apply before your score can be recorded.

Who can I drive with my license?

An individual with a learner's license/permit may drive only when accompanied either by a licensed parent or legal guardian or, with the permission of the parent or legal guardian, a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.

How long does it take to get my license?

If you pass the test, you will be issued a Temporary Driving Licence immediately after the test (you must pay the issuing fee for this). You must use this temporary licence until you receive your official one, which usually takes between 4 and 6 weeks.

How long is a temporary license good for in Washington?

The department temporary permit is valid for no longer than sixty days from the date of application.

How do I transfer my driver's license to Washington?

If you have an out-of-state driver's license, you'll need to transfer it for a Washington license within 30 days of moving to the state. You'll need to visit your local Washington DOL office in person with various documents and pay the driver's licensing fee.

How do I prove residency in Washington state?

Examples of acceptable documents include home utility bills or hook-up work order dated within 60 days of the time you apply for a license (gas, electricity, water, garbage, or telephone), Washington instruction permits or ID cards, or Washington voter registration cards.

How do I establish residency in Washington state?

In order to be considered a resident for tuition purposes, you (or your parent/legal guardian, if you are financially dependent) must have established domicile in Washington for at least one year prior to the first day of the quarter in which you are requesting residency.

Is drivers ed required in WA?

In the state of Washington, you need to be 15 years of age to enroll in a state-approved driver's education course and you need to be 15 ½ years old to apply for a learner's permit without taking driver's education first.

What all do I need to get my license?

What do I need to bring to the DMV to get my license?
  1. Original or certified copy of your state-issued birth certificate.
  2. Valid and unexpired United States Passport or Passport Card.
  3. Out-of-state instruction permit or ID card compliant with the Real ID Act of 2005.
  4. Certificate of Citizenship or Naturalization.
  5. Permanent Resident Card.
  6. See more examples here.

How do I know if my driver's license is enhanced?

How do you know what ID you have? Enhanced IDs have your full legal name, your address and an American flag on the bottom right corner of the license. They also say "enhanced" at the top of the licenses.

How do I get my license at 16?

To take your driving test you must:
  1. Be 16 years old.
  2. Have held your California instruction permit for a minimum of six months.
  3. Have completed driver education.
  4. Have completed 6 hours of professional driver training. Select a driving school.
  5. Have completed 50 hours of practice with an adult 25 of age years or older.

When can you drive by yourself?

It is only given to people 15 ½ to 18 years old. Even though you can legally drive alone after you are 16 years old, you need to have a provisional driver's license for six months prior. With a provisional drivers license, you are allowed to drive with a licensed adult 25 years of age or older.

What do I need to get a real ID in Washington state?

REAL ID-compliant identification can include the following:
  • U.S. or foreign passport.
  • U.S. passport card.
  • Military ID.
  • DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
  • Enhanced driver license.
  • Tribal ID.
  • Transportation Worker Identification Credential.

Can I drive a limo for personal use?

Yes, you can. Many people have privately owned limousines. The only hurdle might be convincing the insurance company that the car would not be operated for-hire, and some are reluctant to insure stretches.