How do I renew my physical therapy license in Texas?

Asked By: Utman Rossello | Last Updated: 5th May, 2020
Category: healthy living physical therapy
4.6/5 (85 Views . 14 Votes)
The requirements for renewal are:
  1. Renewal application and fee*
  2. Approved continuing competency units (CCUs) as reflected on the CC Activities Report **
  3. Passing score on the Jurisprudence Assessment Module**
  4. Social Security Number, or a notarized affidavit stating that one has never been issued to the licensee.

Click to see full answer


Keeping this in consideration, how much does it cost to renew PTA license in Texas?

✰ A complete renewal includes: 1. renewal information & attestation (either online or submitted on paper), including a residential street address; 2. correct fee(s); 3.

Secondly, how much does it cost to renew PTA license? The PTA had passed a verdict relating to license renewal of Jazz and Telenor, details for which are as following: fee for renewal of license shall be US $ 39.5 million per MHz for frequency spectrum of 900 MHz and US $ 29.5 million per MHz for frequency spectrum of 1800 MHz; licenses will be renewed with effect from

Also to know, how often do you have to renew your physical therapy license?

How often must a license as a physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant be renewed? The renewal period is biennial. All physical therapy and physical therapist assistant licenses expire every two years on January 31 of any even-numbered year, regardless of the date of initial licensure.

How long does a licensee need to retain evidence of a continuing education activity completed to meet license renewal requirements?

CE Documentation Tips (Information regarding Type 2 and Type 1 CE can be found in Chapter 367 and the Board's Continuing Education page.) In addition, you must keep accurate documentation of all continuing education activities for two years from the date of the last renewal, or a total of four years.

17 Related Question Answers Found

How many CEUs do I need to renew my PT license?

The State of California requires that physical therapists complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years in order to renew their licensure. Flex CEUs is recognized as a Continuing Competency Approval Agency by the Physical Therapy Board of California.

What is the Texas jurisprudence exam?

The TX Jurisprudence exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions prepared by the Texas Medical Board or TMB. In fact the exam questions are selected from legal topics listed in “Summary of Texas Statutes Relating to Physicians”. This pamphlet is published by the TMB.

How do I get my PTA license in Texas?

Steps to Becoming a PTA in Texas
  1. Apply online for your TX PTA license and pay the application fee of $125 (see all TX PTA Board fees)
  2. Contact the registrar from your school and have them send an official transcript directly to the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.
  3. Mail a recent, 2 in.

What it takes to be a physical therapist?

Steps to Becoming a Physical Therapist
  • Earn a Bachelor's Degree in a Health-Related Field.
  • Complete a Doctor of Physical Therapy Degree Program.
  • Meet Your State's Licensing Requirements.
  • Complete a Residency (Optional)
  • Obtain Board Certification (Optional)

What is a PTLA?


PTLA: Physical Therapist License Applicant – this is a provisional status that enables you to work as a PT under the “direct and immediate supervision of a licensed PT” for no more than X-number of days pending the results of your first try on the NPTE.

How long does it take to get NJ PT license?

Below are the average license processing times for traveling physical therapists per state
State Timeframe Application
New Jersey 4-8 weeks New Jersey PT Form
New Mexico 1-3 weeks New Mexico PT Form
New York 4-8 weeks New York PT Form
North Carolina 2-3 weeks after board review North Carolina PT Form

How do I change my name on my physical therapy license?

You must include documentation of your legal name change, such as a marriage license, court order or divorce decree. New copies of your license with the changed name can be obtained from the Department by paying a fee.

Do you need a prescription for physical therapy in NJ?

You do not need a prescription for physical therapy in NJ. “Direct Access” means you have the freedom to get physical therapy treatment in NJ without the prescription or referral of a physician.

How many CEUS does a PT need?

Each licensed physical therapist and physical therapist assistant must complete at least 20 contact hours of continuing education credit every two years as a condition of licensure renewal.

How many CEUS does an occupational therapist need in Texas?


Texas OT and OTA licensees are legally required to complete 24 contact hours of continuing education each renewal period in order to maintain licensure. Licensees may earn more than the required minimum of CE hours. Refer to Chapter 367 of the OT Rules for further CE information and requirements.

How many CEUS do you need for PT in Texas?

Texas PTs and PTAs are legally required to complete continuing competence (CC) activities to maintain professional licensure - for PTs, 30 units (CCUs) during each two-year renewal cycle, for PTAs, 20 units (CCUs).

How many continuing education are there?

Complete 10 continuing education credits every 2 years. Your job isn't always 9 to 5. That is why we've made it convenient for you to earn your CE credits online without additional fees. If you choose to recertify and complete all of your CE credits, the recertification fee is $169.00.

Do Occupational Therapists need to be CPR certified?

Occupational Therapists should have a firm grasp of fundamental CPR (Cardiopulmonary resuscitation) concepts. CPR certification for Occupational Therapists is a great way to expand your knowledge and more importantly, save lives.