How do I become a wedding officiant in Virginia?

Asked By: Dharminder Korostola | Last Updated: 20th June, 2020
Category: family and relationships marriage and civil unions
4.1/5 (454 Views . 17 Votes)
  1. Step 1 - How to Become Ordained Step 1 - How to Become Ordained. How to get and become Ordained in Virginia to Officiate or perform marriages in Virginia.
  2. Step 2 - Contact The County Clerk Step 2 - Contact The County Clerk.
  3. Step 3 - Getting Licensed to Perform the Marriage Step 3 - Getting Licensed to Perform the Marriage.

Click to see full answer


Also know, can anyone officiate a wedding in Virginia?

A qualified minister, any judge, or a person appointed by the court can perform the ceremony. You cannot legally marry a relative closer to you than a cousin, even if the relationship is by half-blood.

Furthermore, who can perform a wedding ceremony in Virginia? Non-Virginia residents who are not clergy cannot legally perform a wedding in Virginia. You must be a resident of Loudoun County in order to be a One-Time Ceremony Civil Celebrant authorized to perform a wedding in Virginia.

Hereof, how do you get a license to marry someone in Virginia?

In Virginia, you can apply at any county court clerk's office and the license is valid anywhere in the state.

  1. You can apply for a marriage license either:
  2. Both parties must be present when applying/picking up the license in-person.
  3. Both parties must have a government issued ID with them (driver's license, passport, etc.)

Are online ordained ministers legal in VA?

NBC12 legal expert Steve Benjamin says online ordinations are not recognized by the state, and only people with approval from the courts can perform weddings. If you questions about a marriage license, you can also contact the clerk of court in your county.

28 Related Question Answers Found

Does an ordained minister have to register with the state?

No one governing body dictates an ordained minister's ability to perform marriages in a specific state. Each state treats this official status differently. An ordained minister is definitely able to perform marriage ceremonies in the state in which he is registered, as his church is there.

What are the marriage laws in Virginia?

You must be at least 16 years old to marry in Virginia, and persons under 18 years of age must provide written, notarized consent by a parent or legal guardian.

Does Virginia recognize Universal Life Church?

Tennessee and Virginia — and sometimes Alabama, New York, Pennsylvania and Utah — don't recognize ministers ordained online through sites such as Universal Life Church.

How do you get an officiant license?

In many states, an online ordination is all that's required to legally marry a couple.
  1. Call your town hall or county clerk. The legal responsibilities of the officiant depend on the state where you live.
  2. Apply to be ordained. Now comes the official part.
  3. Plan the ceremony.
  4. Practice.
  5. Consider doing it again.

Can a lay person officiate a wedding?

A: The quick answer to that is yes; it is possible to have a friend of family member perform your marriage ceremony once they have been legally ordained to do so. Getting ordination can be as simple as filling out an online form from a ministry that will ordain anyone who wants to solemnize weddings.

How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in Virginia?

The marriage license fees in Virginia is $30. Some clerks offices accept credit cards with an additional fee. All accept cash.

How do I get married in Richmond VA?

To qualify to receive a marriage license in Richmond, both applicants must be single and 18 years old or older. When applying for their marriage license, both applicants will need to appear in person together at the Richmond Circuit Court Clerk's office to show their government-issued photo I.D.

Do you need a birth certificate to get married in Virginia?


You do not have to be a resident of Virginia to get married in the state. You will need to present valid photo identification such as your driver's license, military ID, state ID, or passport and a certified copy of your birth certificate. Both of you must be present in order to obtain a marriage license.

What states do not require a marriage license?

These are some states that permit these types of marriages at time of publication: Alabama, Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas and Utah.

What is the meaning of common law wife?

What is Common Law Marriage: A Definition. A common law marriage is one in which the couple lives together for a period of time and holds themselves out to friends, family and the community as "being married," but without ever going through a formal ceremony or getting a marriage license.

How much do it cost for marriage license?

U.S. Marriage License Application Fees. Fees for marriage licenses range from a low of $10 to as much as $115. The cost varies based on county, city or municipality, residential status, and in some cases, completion of a pre-marital counseling or education course. A few states, have standard, statewide fees.

Where do you go to change your last name?

How to Change Your Last Name After the Wedding
  • Get your marriage license. Before you can change your name, you'll need the original (or certified) marriage license with the raised seal.
  • Change your Social Security card.
  • Change your license at the DMV.
  • Change your bank accounts.
  • Fill in the blanks.
  • Feeling overwhelmed?

What all do you need for marriage license?


When applying for a marriage license current photo identification such as a driver's license or passport; proof of citizenship and/or residence; a birth certificate, proof of parental consent and/or court consent if underage; a death certificate if you are widowed or divorce decree if you are divorced; and sometimes

Where can I elope in Virginia?

The Best Places to Elope in Virginia
  • Richmond, VA for that fun urban vibe.
  • Coastal Virginia.
  • Great Falls Park.
  • Shenandoah National Park.
  • Virginia Blue Ridge Parkway.
  • Grayson Highlands State Park.

What is a marriage certificate?

It is a legal document and for the most part is all you need to legally prove you are married. There are some organisations however who insist that you produce a Marriage Certificate as proof of marriage when you update your details on some documents such as drivers licence and passport.