Do I need to return my Ohio license plates?

Asked By: Yinuo Eisner | Last Updated: 7th January, 2020
Category: automotive auto buying and selling
4.4/5 (3,801 Views . 18 Votes)
You may be required to surrender your license plates if you replace them with a new type of plate or otherwise no longer need them, such as when you move out of state. Contact the Ohio BMV at (844) 644-6268 or your deputy registrar's office for more information about surrendering license plates.

Click to see full answer


Regarding this, what do you do with old license plates in Ohio?

Put them in an aluminum recycling bin at your local recycling center. If you choose this option, it is very important to remove all the month and year decals from the license plate and destroy it by bending it, scratching it up, or cutting it into pieces.

Subsequently, question is, what states require you to return license plates? We've learned 16 states—Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Vermont, Delaware, Kansas, Kentucky, South Carolina, Florida—require you to turn in your license plates to them when you move.

Regarding this, how do I cancel my Ohio license plates?

Customer Request to Cancel Vehicle Registration

  1. Please print and complete the Customer Request to Cancel Vehicle Registration Form.
  2. Submit to your local BMV field office. Click HERE to find the BMV location closest to you.

What is needed to transfer plates in Ohio?

You will need proof of current, active registration for the vehicle that you are transferring the license plates from, and you will need to have the title certificate of the car that you are transferring the license plates to.

39 Related Question Answers Found

Can I throw away old license plates?

The general advice is to make the plates unusable by bending them or destroying the stickers before taking the plates to your local recycling center. You can also turn them over to the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which will destroy or recycle the plates for you.

What happens if you don't return Florida plates?

Florida law requires all sellers to file a Notice of Sale.
Your driver license will be suspended if you fail to surrender your license plate when you sell your vehicle and are not transferring the plate to a replacement vehicle within a maximum of 30 days. Fees may apply for reinstatement of driving privileges.

What do I do with my license plates when I sell my car in Ohio?

Do I keep the plates when selling a car in Ohio?
  1. You should keep your plates.
  2. If you are getting a new car (brand new, used, etc.), you can transfer your existing plates to the new-to-you vehicle.
  3. The new owner should go to get 30 days tags or new plates.
  4. If the buyer has their old plates, they can use those as 30 day tags followed by transferring the registration.

Do I need to cancel my registration when I sell my car?


There is a $8.40 fee for cancelling a vehicle registration. Selling your car? If you need to cancel your vehicle registration before it's due to expire, you may be eligible for refund based on the time left on your registration. For more information, call us toll-free: 1-866-989-6370.

What do you do with old dinner plates?

Toss all broken items.
If dishes are broken, or have bad chips, cracks or stains, toss them. Wrap any sharp edges or pieces in newspaper, place them in a plastic bag, label them as “broken glass,” and throw them away. Broken glass is never recyclable because it's a hazard for sanitation workers to handle it.

Do you take your license plate when you sell your car?

To prepare the car for sale, the seller should remove the licence plates from the vehicle as well as the insurance and registration, tearing off the vehicle registration portion and signing this portion. The buyer receives the signed registration and gives payment to the seller.

What do I do with my old license plates NY?

Destroy the registration and inspection stickers from your windshield.
  • Do not give your plates to another person unless that person will surrender the plates for you.
  • Step 2: Complete the PD-7 application.
  • You must complete the Plate Surrender Application (PDF) (PD-7) for each set of plates you are surrendering.

Can I download my vehicle registration online?

Online services. You can take a registration number off a vehicle online, and put a registration number on a vehicle online. Use form V317 to transfer a vehicle registration number from one vehicle to another. to a vehicle you're buying.

How much does it cost to register a car in Ohio?

Vehicle Registration Fee:
To register a passenger vehicle, you will pay $34.50 with possible additional fees if you have personalized plates (an additional $50 and retention fee of $10) or initial reserve (an additional $25). Moped registrations are $24.50 and Motorcycles are $28.50.

What is needed to transfer plates?

You will need your current registration or license plate number, your title to the vehicle to which you want to transfer the license plate (your copy of the title application will be sufficient if you recently applied for your title), a $8 transfer fee and the difference in registration costs if transferring a plate

How do I get historical plates in Ohio?

Eligibility: Applicant must complete Application and Affidavit for Historical License Plates (BMV 4806) form; vehicle must be more than 25 years old and be used solely as a collector's item for participation in club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades, and similar uses.

Can I transfer plates online?

registered to you - apply online or by post. a used vehicle you just bought - wait for DVLA to send you a new V5C in your name before you apply online or by post. registered to someone else and you want the private number to be transferred to them - apply online or by post.

Can you print your car registration online Ohio?


Losing your registration can be a pain, but if you live in Ohio it is easily fixable. You can apply for a duplicate registration in person at any BMV office, online, or by mail. Replace your Ohio car registration online by clicking here. Make sure to have available your credit card number before you begin.

How do I renew my tags in Ohio?

Here is what you will need to do in order to renew your registration by phone:
  1. Call 866-868-0006.
  2. Put in your Social Security number.
  3. Enter in a credit or debit card number to pay the fees you owe.

What happens if you get pulled over with the wrong license plate?

If you were driving a car with fictitious plates, The car would be impounded. The plates would be seized. You would get a ticket (or possibly be arrested) for driving with fictitious plates ($375 fine), and probably also for driving without insurance, because unregistered cars are seldom insured.