Do I need a CDL Texas?

Asked By: Autumn Minguijon | Last Updated: 30th January, 2020
Category: automotive auto buying and selling
4.3/5 (39 Views . 25 Votes)
The basic requirements for getting your cdl in Texas include: You must be at least 18 years old to hold a Texas CDL and drive a commercial vehicle within the state of Texas. You must be at least age 21 to drive a commercial motor vehicle across Texas state lines, carry hazardous materials, or transport any passengers.

Click to see full answer


Thereof, what requires a CDL in Texas?

Individuals are required to have a CDL if they operate a motor vehicle: With a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds, Which transports quantities of hazardous materials that requires warning placards (signs), or. Designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver.

Secondly, do you need a CDL for personal use? Some states have laws exempting CDL requirements for vehicles used to transport personal property. They may restrict the size of the vehicle this exemption applies to, and this exemption is not valid for interstate travel. Some states have exemptions for antique/historical vehicles.

Hereof, how much does it cost to get a CDL in Texas?

You will be expected to complete an application, take and pass an eye exam with 20/30 vision or better with or without correction and pay the licensing fee. The current Texas CDL license cost is $61.

How much weight can I carry without a CDL?

Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing another not in excess of 10,000 pounds. Any vehicle, regardless of size, designed to transport 16 or more persons, including the driver. Any vehicle required by federal regulations to be placarded while transporting hazardous materials.

37 Related Question Answers Found

How long does it take to get your CDL in Texas?

Applying for a Commercial Driver License
Once you have held your CLP for a minimum of 14 days, you are eligible to complete the necessary driving tests to obtain your CDL. You will need to provide a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) for the driving test.

Do I need a CDL for a gooseneck?

A CDL is not required under federal law for a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a GVWR or GCVWR of 10,001 lbs to 26,001 lbs., being driven interstate or intrastate. For more information about CDL requirements, don't hesitate to contact us here at Gooseneck Trailers with the link below!

What are the requirements to get your CDL?

Minimum Requirements to Apply for a Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) or Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
  • Have a valid regular (non-commercial) driver's license and be at least 18 years old (in most states).
  • Be at least 21 years old:
  • Have at least one or two years of driving experience (depending on the state)

How big of a truck can I drive without a CDL?


You do not need a CDL to drive a 26 foot box truck as long as the 26 ft. box truck has a GVWR of 26,000 lbs or less. If the GVWR is 26,0001 lbs. or more you will need a Class B CDL at least.

How long is a Texas CDL good for?

A CLP is valid for 180 days or when your Texas driver license expires, whichever is earliest. A CLP can be renewed one time, up to 30 days prior to expiration, without needing to retake the knowledge exams.

Do hot shot drivers need CDL?

Hotshot drivers have different requirements than a traditional commercial truck driver. Hotshot trucking doesn't always require a CDL, but it is recommended. If a hotshot trucker has a CDL and a larger trailer, he or she could haul loads weighing up to 26,000 pounds. Hotshot truckers have lower operating expenses.

Does a 10000 pound trailer need a CDL?

In either case, the driver will need a Class A CDL. It is required even if that truck, automobile, or van is towing a trailer and that trailer has a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or less (If the trailer's GVWR exceeds 10,0000 lbs., a Class A CDL is needed).

Can I get a CDL license without going to school?

The short answer is yes, you could go ahead and study and test for your CDL without going to school or a company-sponsored training program. The more accurate answer, however, is yes, but you won't be able to find a company that will hire you to drive for them.

How hard is the CDL test?


The written CDL exam is not very difficult for most to pass. The driving portion of the test is a bit trickier, but the written part shouldn't be too much trouble if you spend a reasonable amount of time studying the CDL manual and you take our free online practice CDL Tests to help you out!

How much does Sage CDL training cost?

The cost to attend SAGE Tech Truck Driving School and CDL Training ranges from $2,500 to $5,500 depending on the qualification, with a median cost of $4,000. When asked how they paid for their training, most reviewers responded, "I received grants and/or scholarship funding".

How many questions are on the CDL permit test in Texas?

To receive this license, applicants must pass a 70-question test. Test questions come from the Texas Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers Handbook. Each question has four answer choices. To pass, applicants must answer 56 questions correctly.

Texas CDL Permit Test - Class A.
Number of questions: 70
Passing score: 56

What do you need to do to get your CDL license?

Part 2 Getting Your Learner's Permit
  1. Gather required documents. To apply for a CDL, you must bring identification, proof of citizenship status, and proof of residency.
  2. Turn in your CDL application.
  3. Pass the written test.
  4. Practice with a supervising driver.
  5. Complete any required training.

Can you get a CDL with a felony in Texas?


If the felony involved the use or operation of a CMV. This may include crimes committed while “on the clock” as a truck driver. In some states, such as Texas, this is a lifetime ban. In others, you may have a waiting period and other requirements before you can get a CDL.

Can I get a CDL with a DWI in Texas?

There is no statutory or legal avenue to get your CDL in Texas. If you are convicted of DWI and have a CDL, you will not be able to work for one year or perhaps your lifetime if your job requires a CDL. A conviction for DWI can have a lifetime effect on your ability to make a living.

Do you need a CDL for air brakes in Texas?

Texas CDL Permit Test - Air Brakes. Directions: This endorsement is required for driving a vehicle with air brakes. The Air Brakes endorsement may be used with the Class A, B or C CDL.