Why are some California driver's licenses vertical?

Category: automotive auto insurance
4.6/5 (512 Views . 26 Votes)
One of the design changes? “If you are under 21 your license is now vertical,” DMV spokeswoman Jan Mendoza said. “This is so that bar owners, grocery stores, law enforcement, etc., can easily identify” people under 21 years old and hence underage for consuming alcohol.

People also ask, what does a vertical driver's license mean?

Vertical (portrait) licenses are generally used to designate an underage driver, as in under age 21. It is supposed to curtail underage drinking. Establishments that card people will know immediately that they are dealing with someone under 21. You could be 21 or over and still be carrying a vertical license.

Subsequently, question is, why are some licenses sideways? The change is intended to discourage those who obtain a new, horizontal driver's license after turning 21 from passing on their still-valid vertical licenses to someone who is underage and might use it to purchase alcohol or get into bars.

Similarly one may ask, why is my California license vertical?

“You can't get horizontal license online in California.” A state law enacted in July bans the use of vertical IDs for buying alcohol 30 days after the ID holder turns 21, even if the date of birth on the ID indicates the holder is old enough.

Why do places not accept vertical IDs?

… But Most Businesses Follow it For Good Reason. Balliet believes the main reason for not accepting legal vertical I.D.s is because businesses don't want to risk losing liquor licenses. “As a business owner, it's their liquor license and they're risking losing it.

38 Related Question Answers Found

Can I get into a bar with a vertical ID?

Some states, and some establishments, do not allow anyone with a vertical license or ID to purchase alcohol- regardless of age. You could have trouble, yes.

Can Bars Deny vertical IDs?

Refuse to serve them alcohol due to their “vertical” driver's license. While understandably frustrating for those newly christened 21-year olds who still have their vertical license, it's perfectly legal for restaurants and bars to not serve alcohol to them based on the type of ID they produce.

When did Vertical licenses start?

In 2004, which marked the first full year of issuance of vertical licenses, there were about 1,700 convictions under the zero tolerance law, which dropped by nearly 400 by 2007, Chesney said.

What is the difference between a vertical and horizontal ID?

Typically in most states a vertical liscense is for minors AND those under 21 while a horizontal liscense is for those over 21. In Massachusetts, a Horizontal drivers license is for people who are 21 or older.

Does the DMV send you a new license when you turn 21?

If the DMV processes your renewal during the 40 days before the expiration date on your current driver license, the photo document that the DMV sends to you will not display the words, "UNDER 21". Your photo document normally arrives no more than five days after your 21st birthday.

Do you have to get a horizontal ID when you turn 21?

When you turn 21, you may continue to use your driver license or identification card with the special vertical orientation. However, you are eligible to obtain a replacement license with the regular horizontal orientation without the under-21 designation.

Can I buy alcohol with my vertical license?

Those who have vertical driver's licenses cannot purchase alcohol even if they are 21 years of age. But it depends on where they are trying to buy.

How often will you have to renew your license?

In most states, driver's licenses require renewal every four years. If you received your first driver's license at the standard age of sixteen, this means that you will be required to renew your license at the age of twenty.

What does a California ID look like?

A California issued REAL ID driver license or identification card meets these new requirements and is marked with a gold bear and star. Applying for a REAL ID requires proofs of identity, social security number (SSN) if eligible, California residency, and a trip to a DMV office.

What does ISS mean on CA drivers license?

In the sample California driver's license card, you can see ISS is September 30, 2010. So this is your official issue date. It is the abbreviation of Issue Date, shortened as ISS.

What pier is on the back of the California driver's license?

California recently changed the design of the driver's license. What is the bridge on the back? Previously it was the Golden Gate bridge. If you are referring to this one; then this is not a bridge, it is a pier.

Are all under 21 license vertical?

“If you are under 21 your license is now vertical,” DMV spokeswoman Jan Mendoza said. “This is so that bar owners, grocery stores, law enforcement, etc., can easily identify” people under 21 years old and hence underage for consuming alcohol.

What does the bear on the California ID mean?

The star and bear symbol in the upper right corner means that the license is REAL ID-compliant.

Can I use my expired ID in Vegas?

If you have an expired ID, it's no longer valid, so you're then gambling with no valid ID.

Do I have to renew my license when I turn 21 California?

Licenses issued to drivers under age 21 will have the license expire 30 days after the driver's 21st birthday and may be renewed for a period of up to five years. Military personnel out of the state should request a non-photo renewal via mail 60 days prior to the expiration of their current license.

Does Maryland accept vertical IDs?

In Maryland there is a state law prohibiting the sale of alcohol to people with a vertical ID even if its valid, unexpired, and they're of age.

Does California have a grace period for expired drivers license?

A: There is no grace period. Once your California driver's license expires, it's expired and you can't legally drive. According to California law, drivers must carry paper registration papers when driving or have them available in the vehicle.