Which of the following structures is part of the vascular tunic of the eye?

Asked By: Xuhar Munzon | Last Updated: 13th March, 2020
Category: medical health eye and vision conditions
4.2/5 (219 Views . 29 Votes)
The vascular tunic is comprised of three distinct regions, (1) the iris, (2) the ciliary body, and (3) the choroid. The vascular tunic is mesodermal in origin and is situated between the outer fibrous tunic and the inner nervous tunic.

Click to see full answer

Correspondingly, which of the following is part of the vascular layer of the eye?

The vascular layer of the eye lies underneath the fibrous layer. It consists of the choroid, ciliary body and iris: Choroid – layer of connective tissue and blood vessels. It provides nourishment to the outer layers of the retina.

Beside above, which of the following is part of the inner tunic of the eye? The eye is made up of three layers: the outer layer called the fibrous tunic, which consists of the sclera and the cornea; the middle layer responsible for nourishment, called the vascular tunic, which consists of the iris, the choroid, and the ciliary body; and the inner layer of photoreceptors and neurons called the

One may also ask, what structure makes up the nervous tunic of the eye?

The sclera gives the eye most of its white color. It consists of dense connective tissue filled with the protein collagen to both protect the inner components of the eye and maintain its shape. The nervous tunic, also known as the tunica nervosa oculi, is the inner sensory layer which includes the retina.

What are the parts of the eye?

  • Parts of the Eye. Here I will briefly describe various parts of the eye:
  • Sclera. The sclera is the white of the eye.
  • The Cornea. The cornea is the clear bulging surface in front of the eye.
  • Anterior & Posterior Chambers. The anterior chamber is between the cornea and the iris.
  • Iris/Pupil.
  • Lens.
  • Vitreous Humor.
  • Retina.

29 Related Question Answers Found

What are the three layers of the eye and their functions?

They consist of different tissue and serve different functions.
  • Outer coat (fibrous tunic)
  • Middle coat (vascular tunic)
  • Inner coat.
  • The lens.
  • The vitreous body (vitreous humour, vitreous)
  • Anterior and posterior eye chamber.

What is the main function of the rods in the eye?

There are two types of photoreceptors in the human retina, rods and cones. Rods are responsible for vision at low light levels (scotopic vision). They do not mediate color vision, and have a low spatial acuity.

What is the function of the eye?

Both are located in the front part of the eye, in front of the lens). The eye receives oxygen through the aqueous. Its function is to nourish the cornea, iris, and lens by carrying nutrients, it removes waste products excreted from the lens, and maintain intraocular pressure and thus maintains the shape of the eye.

What controls the amount of light entering the eye?

The iris is the ring of pigmented tissue surrounding the pupil that varies in color. The iris opens and closes to control the amount of light entering the eye through the pupil. The pupil is the opening in the center of the iris where light enters the eye. When looking at the eye, the pupil appears black.

What are the three tunics of the eye?

Tunics of eye. The eyeball (globe or bulb) has three concentric coverings (figs. 46-3 and 46-4): (1) an external, fibrous tunic comprising the cornea and sclera; (2) a middle, vascular tunic comprising the iris, ciliary body, and choroid; and (3) an internal, nervous tunic, or retina.

What is the uvea of the eye?

The uvea is the middle layer of the eye. It lies beneath the white part of the eye (the sclera). It is made of the iris, ciliary body, and choroid. These structures control many eye functions, including adjusting to different levels of light or distances of objects.

What are the most important parts of the eye?

Parts of the Eye
  • Cornea. Light's journey doesn't actually begin with the pupil, it begins with the cornea!
  • Pupil. Starting at the center of your eye, the pupil is the black hole that light passes through.
  • Lens.
  • Iris.
  • Sclera.
  • Vitreous Humor.
  • Retina.
  • Optic Nerve.

What are the neural components of the eye?

The neural components, which consist of the retina and the optic nerve.

Chambers of the eye
  • Anterior chamber: This is the space between the cornea and the iris.
  • Posterior chamber: This is the space between the iris and the lens.
  • Vitreous chamber: This is the space between the lens and the retina.

What are the two fluids in the eye?

The large space behind the lens (the vitreous chamber) contains a thick, gel-like fluid called vitreous humor or vitreous gel. These two fluids press against the inside of the eyeball and help the eyeball keep its shape. The eye is like a camera.

What is the center of the eye?

The center of the macula which provides the sharp vision. The colored part of the eye which helps regulate the amount of light entering the eye. When there is bright light, the iris closes the pupil to let in less light. And when there is low light, the iris opens up the pupil to let in more light.

What is the ciliary muscle of the eye?

Medical Definition of Ciliary muscle
Ciliary muscle: A circular muscle that relaxes or tightens the zonules to enable the lens to change shape for focusing. The zonules are fibers that hold the lens suspended in position and enable it to change shape during accommodation.

What are the three layers of the eye quizlet?

What are the three layers of the eye? The sclera, the choroid layer, and the retina.

What are the photoreceptors?

Photoreceptors are the cells in the retina that respond to light. Their distinguishing feature is the presence of large amounts of tightly packed membrane that contains the photopigment rhodopsin or a related molecule.

What is the retina?

The retina is a thin layer of tissue that lines the back of the eye on the inside. It is located near the optic nerve. The purpose of the retina is to receive light that the lens has focused, convert the light into neural signals, and send these signals on to the brain for visual recognition.

What is the white of the eye called?

The sclera, also known as the white of the eye, is the opaque, fibrous, protective, outer layer of the human eye containing mainly collagen and some elastic fiber.