What is the meaning of Gulf of Guinea?

Asked By: Joseba Wohrel | Last Updated: 3rd June, 2020
Category: sports sailing
4/5 (180 Views . 35 Votes)
Noun. 1. Gulf of Guinea - a gulf off the southwest coast of Africa. Bioko - an island in the Gulf of Guinea that is part of Equatorial Guinea. Atlantic, Atlantic Ocean - the 2nd largest ocean; separates North and South America on the west from Europe and Africa on the east.

Click to see full answer

Also asked, why is it called Gulf of Guinea?

The coastline on the Gulf of Guinea consists of the Bight of Benin and the Bight of Biafra (or Bonny). The name Guinea is said to have come from Ghana. However, this is not certain because the name Guinea has been used in Southern Africa's west coast and West Africa's south coast.

Also, why is the Gulf of Guinea important? The Gulf of Guinea is an important geo-political choke point for shipping transporting oil extracted in the Niger delta, as well as goods to and from central and southern Africa. It includes, for the first time, a section dedicated to regions and sea-basins, including the Gulf of Guinea.

Subsequently, one may also ask, what is another name for Gulf of Guinea?

Gulf of Guinea
Native name French: Golfe de Guinée Portuguese: Golfo da Guiné
River sources Niger
Ocean/sea sources Atlantic Ocean
Basin countries Liberia, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé and Príncipe, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola

How long is the Gulf of Guinea?

The entire northern coast of the gulf is washed by the eastward flow of the Guinea Current, which extends 250–300 miles (400–480 km) offshore from Senegal to the Bight of Biafra.

28 Related Question Answers Found

What do you mean by Gulf?

A gulf is a large inlet from the ocean into the landmass, typically with a narrower opening than a bay; though this is not observable in all geographic areas so named. The term gulf was traditionally used for large, highly indented, navigable bodies of salt water which are enclosed by the coastline.

What two countries border the Gulf of Guinea?

The Gulf of Guinea includes several West African countries that border the Atlantic Ocean and these are Benin, Ghana, Togo, Nigeria, Cameroon, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

Is the Gulf of Mexico a body of water?

The Gulf of Mexico is a large ocean basin near the Southeastern United States. The Gulf of Mexico is the ninth largest body of water in the world at a width of 810 nautical miles (1,500 km). The entire basin is about 600,000 square miles (1.5 million sq km).

How many gulfs are there?

There are 62 gulfs in total.

What country has territory in the Gulf of Guinea and territory that borders Gabon and Cameroon?

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is a nation in central Africa, and one of the smallest countries in continental Africa. It borders Cameroon on the north, Gabon on the south and east, and the Gulf of Guinea on the west, where the islands of São Tomé and Príncipe lie to its southwest.

What is the capital of Gulf of Guinea?

gulf of guinea capital
Gulf of Guinea capital
Equitorial Guinea capital (6)

Who colonized North Africa?

European colonization
During the 18th and 19th century, North Africa was colonized by France, the United Kingdom, Spain and Italy.

What countries are part of southern Africa?

Southern Africa, southernmost region of the African continent, comprising the countries of Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.