What happens if you fail your permit test in Tennessee?

Asked By: Olavo Hohendorf | Last Updated: 21st May, 2020
Category: education standardized testing
4/5 (455 Views . 39 Votes)
If you fail your TN Permit Test, you will not receive your TN Learner's Permit, and you will need to retake the exam. You are able to do so after a 7 day waiting period. You will need to pay a $2 test fee. Of not rush retaking the exam.

Click to see full answer


People also ask, how long do you have to wait if you fail the permit test?

7 days

Also Know, how many questions can you miss on the permit test in TN? 6

Simply so, is the permit test hard in Tennessee?

Tennessee Practice Permit Tests. Getting your Tennessee driver's license doesn't have to be hard. Use Test-Guide.com's free Tennessee practice permit tests to prepare for your exam the fast and easy way. Our questions come right from the source - the Tennessee DOS driver's handbook.

How much is it to take the permit test in Tennessee?

Take Your TN Driving Test Your licensing fee will be $17.50 for 5 years plus a $2 application fee.

34 Related Question Answers Found

Is the permit test the same every time?

Are All Permit Tests the Same? Nope! Each state has its own driving laws, so each state has created its own tests on its own laws. The number of test questions, the fee you must pay, and the amount of time you have to complete the test are different in every state.

Can I take my permit test twice in one day?

You may take the driver's test a maximum number of 3 times on each permit. If you are over the age of 18 and fail the driver's test, you must wait at least one (1) day before you can take the test again.

Do you have to pay if you fail your permit test?

If you fail your driving test, you must wait two weeks before you can take it again and pay a retest fee of $7. You have three chances to pass. If you fail three times, you have to start over in the licensing process.

What do I need to bring to get my permit?

To apply for a first time learner permit
  1. Fully completed application form for a learner permit D201.
  2. Original driver theory test pass certificate (dated within two years)
  3. Photographic I.D.
  4. Proof of your personal public services number (PPSN)

How much does it cost to get your permit?


Provisional, probationary and open licence fees
Item Cost as at 1 July 2019
4 year driver licence $161.05
5 year driver licence $180.70
Replacement driver licence—issued with the same expiry date as your current licence $77.35
Additional fee for grant of licence with code I (alcohol interlock) $319.60

What happens if you don't pass your permit test?

There is simply no way around it: You cannot get a learner's permit - or a driver's license - without passing the permit test. Like it or not, you will have to retake the exam. Different states follow different rules regarding the number of times students can take the driver's permit test.

How can I pass a test without studying?

Method 5 Improving Your Mental State for the Exam
  1. Get a good night's sleep.
  2. Eat breakfast the day of the exam.
  3. Use a relaxation technique to calm down.
  4. Visualize yourself passing the test.
  5. Avoid cramming for the test.

Can you take your permit test online in Tennessee?

Passing the Tennessee Drivers License Test is as easy as 1 2 3 using our online interactive driving practice tests with high-quality images. Study for this driver's license practice test is completely free.

How long is the permit test in Tennessee?

The TN Permit Test consists of 30 multiple choice questions. You will need to answer 24 questions correctly in order to pass successfully.

What do I need to take my permit test in TN?


Learner's Permit
You and a parent or guardian need to visit your local driver exam office and bring a state-certified copy of your birth certificate, Social Security number, proof of TN residency, Minor/Teenage Affidavit and Cancellation form, and Proof of School Attendance form.

Is it hard to get your permit?

Being able to pass the DMV permit test is more than trying to memorize the rules, laws and regulations for your state; it's about understanding them so you can be a good, safe driver. Many states give you a test that involves only 20 questions. That means to pass you cannot get more than five wrong.

Does it cost money to take the permit test?

If you just passed your online permit test, it's time to visit your local DHSMV and get your permit! You won't need to take any tests, but you will need to bring proof of your identity, social security number, residential address, and money for the $48 dollar fee.

Is the DMV permit test hard?

The DMV practice permit test is designed to be tricky. Even seasoned drivers have trouble passing. This is exactly what makes it so hard to pass, and our practice test will help give you a better understanding of how to approach these questions so you have an edge when it's time to take the test for real.

How many permit tests are there?


In some states, the test contains 40 questions, and in others, it's closer to 20 or 30. But no matter what state you live in, you'll still need to have knowledge of traffic rules, road signs and other driving laws in order to pass the exam.

How much does a permit test cost in TN?

The steps are: A learner's permit with a total fee of $10.50 for one year. An intermediate restricted license for applicants at least 16 years old with a valid learner's permit for at least 180 days. The total fee is $24.50 for five years.

Can you get your license at 17 without a permit in Tennessee?

You must be at least 17 years old. You must have held an Intermediate Restricted License for one year. You must not have accumulated more than six points on your driving record. The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security has the following requirements for obtaining a Learner Permit (Class PD License):