What happens if the ball hits the line in pickleball?

Asked By: Nazareno Callegari | Last Updated: 1st April, 2020
Category: sports tennis
4.9/5 (169 Views . 32 Votes)
Balls hitting lines are always good except…
However, if the ball hits the net (or not), then lands in the kitchen or hits the kitchen line, it is a serving fault, and you will lose the point. This is the only time in the game where hitting the ball on the line will result in a fault.

Click to see full answer


Similarly one may ask, can the ball hit the line in pickleball?

A ball contacting any line, except the non-volley zone line on a serve, is considered “in.”

Also, what are the 5 Rules of pickleball? Rules for Pickleball

  • Scoring. A pickleball game is normally played to 11 and must be won by 2.
  • The Serve. The serve must be hit with an underhand swinging motion and the ball contacted below the hips.
  • Double Bounce Rule. When the ball is served the player on the receiving side must let the ball bounce once before hitting it.
  • No Volley Zone.

Moreover, is the line in or out in pickleball?

When it comes to whether or not a ball is in or out, here's what you need to know: If the ball physically touches the paint that the line is made of, it is in. If it does not touch the paint and lands outside the zone in question, it is out.

What is considered out in pickleball?

In tennis, if the ball's impact footprint touches the line at any point, the ball is considered in. In pickleball, if the ball's impact footprint touches outside the line at any point, the ball is considered out.

35 Related Question Answers Found

Can you stand in the kitchen in pickleball?

Like I mentioned earlier, here is the main kitchen rule: You cannot be standing in, or otherwise make contact with the kitchen zone or kitchen line while volleying a ball. A volley is a fancy word for hitting the ball in mid-air before it hits the ground.

Why is it called the kitchen in pickleball?

Let's Clarify Why Is It Called The Kitchen in Pickleball:
Since pickleball holds the same rule of losing points around this zone, it's likely that the sport borrows the same word “Kitchen” from shuffleboard. In a nutshell, The Kitchen is the nickname of the Non-volley zone in pickleball.

What is an illegal serve in pickleball?

The Verdict — Legal Serve!
As you can see when pausing the videotape, all three criteria are met — the arm is moving in an upward arc, contact is made below the waist and the highest part of the paddle is not above the wrist. Therefore, this is a legal serve — and it's a pretty darn good one at that!

How do you decide who serves first in pickleball?


As you (hopefully) know, the rule in pickleball is that the player whoever is on the right side of the court serves FIRST at the beginning of the game (and each time your team receives the ball).

Can you spike in pickleball?

Players on each side must let the ball bounce once before volleys are allowed, and there is a seven-foot no-volley zone on each side of the net, to prevent “spiking.” The server continues to serve, alternating service courts, until he or she faults.

Where do you stand to serve in pickleball?

The server must stand behind the baseline and between the imaginary side and center line when paddle makes contact with the ball during a serve. If the server steps on any of these lines or within the court when the paddle makes contact with the ball, it is a fault.

What does side out mean in pickleball?

Terms used while playing pickleball
Whenever the second serve on a team loses the point, the official will call “side outmeaning that their side is out, and the other team now serves.

What can legally touch the net in pickleball?


E. A player, player's clothing, or any part of a player's paddle touches the net or the net post when the ball is in play.”

Can you double hit the ball in pickleball?

A: Double Hits. Balls can be hit twice, but this must occur during an unintentional, continuous, single-direction stroke. If the stroke is not continuous or not in a single direction, the hit is not allowed and a fault will be declared.

Can the return of serve in pickleball land in the kitchen?

Like I mentioned earlier, the ball has to be served cross-court and must clear the net. Also, the serve can never bounce on the ground before you hit it. But there are some more requirements for a serve to be good. The serve must never land in the non-volley zone (kitchen), even if it hits the net beforehand.

Do you get 2 serves in pickleball?

When the first server loses the serve the partner then serves from the correct side of the court (except for the first service sequence of the game*). The second server continues serving until his/her team commits a fault and loses the serve to the opposing team.

Why is pickleball so popular?

Another aspect of why Pickleball is so popular is because people of all ages can play the sport. Many retirement aged adults like to play it because they can get their exercise in a fun way without having to play on a big court like tennis.

Is it legal for the same player to contact the ball twice in a row?


A player may not hit the ball twice in a row unless the first hit is off a block of a spike. If two or more players on the same team contact the ball simultaneously, it is considered one hit, and players involved may hit the ball again.

How do you keep the ball low in pickleball?

How to Keep the Ball Low in Pickleball
  1. The Angle of Your Paddle Face Matters. At its simplest, the trajectory of a Pickleball depends on where your paddle is facing.
  2. Take the Ball Early.
  3. Keep the Ball Away from Your Body.
  4. Contact the Ball in Front of You.
  5. Check Your Tension.
  6. Don't Be Afraid of Hitting the Net With the Ball.

How long does a pickleball game last?

USAPA rules include minimum court standard size, net requirements and space around the court. An event with 8 teams will require approximately 9 hours of court time. There will be 9 matches played with best 2 of 3 games to 11 points at an average time per match of 50 minutes.