What does Prop 64 mean?

Asked By: Tereso Morekhin | Last Updated: 3rd January, 2020
Category: news and politics crime
4.7/5 (169 Views . 20 Votes)
Proposition 64. On November 8, 2016, the majority of California voters passed Proposition 64 – The Control, Regulate and Tax Adult Use of Marijuana Act (Prop 64). Prop 64 permits adults 21 years of age and over to possess and grow specified amounts of marijuana for recreational use.

Click to see full answer

Also asked, is Prop 64 in effect?

The AUMA took effect on November 9, 2016. Adults over 21 years old may possess, consume, and cultivate nonmedical, recreational marijuana in California. However, businesses may not grow, distribute, or sell nonmedical, recreational marijuana until they receive a state license.

Furthermore, is Prop 64 retroactive? Proposition 64, which was approved by California voters in 2016, legalized the recreational use of marijuana. The proposition also applied retroactively to pot convictions, but provided no mechanism or guidance on how those eligible could erase their convictions or have felonies reduced to misdemeanors."

In this manner, does Prop 64 restore gun rights?

If your only felony conviction is a marijuana related offense and you are entitled to relief under this section, then a Prop 64 reduction is a “misdemeanor or infraction for all purposes.” So that means a Prop 64 reduction will probably restore gun rights, because it doesn't have a “no guns” clause like Prop 47 does.

Is Proposition 215 still in effect?

Proposition 215, passed by the voters of California in 1996 and still in effect today, protects only the personal use and cultivation of medical marijuana for patients, or their primary caregivers who cultivate for them.

26 Related Question Answers Found

Is MJ legal in CA?

Adult use of cannabis is legal in California under Prop. 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), approved by the voters on November 8, 2016. Cannabis remains legal for medical use by patients of all ages who have a physician's recommendation under California's 1996 medical marijuana law, Prop.

What is Prop 215 compliant?

Proposition 215 added Section 11362.5 to the California Health and Safety Code, which: Exempts patients and defined caregivers who possess or cultivate marijuana recommended by a physician from criminal laws which otherwise prohibit possession or cultivation of marijuana.

When was Prop 215 passed?

1996 – California voters passed Proposition 215, the Compassionate Use Act (CUA) – the first voter-approved state ballot initiative for medical marijuana in the United States.

Can a felon get his gun rights back in California?

The good new is that in California many offenses can be reduced to a misdemeanor. Those types of felony offenses are often referred to as "wobblers." If your felony offense is a wobbler that is reduced to a misdemeanor, your firearm rights will be restored in California and federally.

What disqualifies you from owning a gun in California?

If you are convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors, you will lose your right to possess a gun in California. You also may not own or possess a gun if you are: addicted to narcotics drugs, prohibited from possessing a gun by court order or as a condition of probation, or.

Can you buy a gun with a dismissed felony?

A felony conviction makes you a prohibited person under state and federal law, even if the conviction is dismissed by expungement, if that is what you meant. However, if you had a Domestic Violence restraining order imposed upon you, then you are a prohibited person for that reason.

Can a felon get their rights back?

While there are restrictions in every state, for the most part, individuals convicted of a felony can eventually restore their gun rights. Whether you are trying to restore your firearm rights, or not, individuals should know and understand State restrictions and consequences related to firearms.

Can I own a gun with an expunged felony in California?

Can I Own a Gun with an Expunged Felony in California? In California, any person convicted of a felony in the state of California loses the right to possess a firearm for the rest of their life.

What does Prop 64 compliant mean?

Prop 64 permits adults 21 years of age and over to possess and grow specified amounts of marijuana for recreational use. Prop 64 does not alter the Compassionate Use Act (Prop 215) or the Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act (MMRSA).

Can a felon go to a shooting range in California?

It is illegal to own, use or possess any firearms or bullets if you have a felony on your record and I see a lot of cases where people are going to the shooting range and shooting a weapon.

Can you buy a gun with a misdemeanor in California?

If you are convicted of domestic violence as a felony or of violating Penal Code 273.5 PC as a misdemeanor, California law prohibits you from ever legally possessing a gun.

What is expungement California?

An expungement is a special post-conviction procedure currently available under California law (most commonly under Penal Code, § 1203.4). The process involves filing a petition in the court that you were convicted in and asking the judge to vacate your conviction and dismiss the case.

Do you still need a medical card in California 2020?

A Guide to Getting a California Medical Marijuana Card in 2020. 2018 is the year cannabis went legal in California. As of 01/01/2018, it is longer a legal requirement to hold a medical marijuana card for a person aged 21 or over should they possess 1 ounce or less of cannabis (max. 8 g of concentrates).

Can I use my medical card out of state?

The following seven states currently recognize out-of state MMJ cards: Arizona, Delaware, Maine, Michigan, Nevada, New Hampshire & Rhode Island. With Nevada having the most liberal reciprocity policy in the United States.

Can you own a gun in California with a medical card?

Legal Marijuana Users in California Can't Buy Guns, Federal Gov Says. If you legally use medical marijuana in California the federal government has just revoked your constitutional right to bear arms. In other words, if you use weed, forget about buying a gun.

Do you have to live in California to get a medical card?

Do you need to be a resident of California to get a medical card? Under current state laws, you will not be able to obtain a Medical Marijuana card as a tourist. Proof of residency would be required for the specific state you're applying within.