What does NEMA 4 mean?

Asked By: Bouazza Christophersen | Last Updated: 30th March, 2020
Category: home and garden indoor environmental quality
3.9/5 (71 Views . 21 Votes)
NEMA 4. Indoor or outdoor use to provide a degree of protection to personnel against access to hazardous parts. To provide a degree of protection of the equipment inside the enclosure against ingress of solid foreign objects (falling dirt and windblown dust)

Click to see full answer

Similarly, you may ask, what is the difference between NEMA 4 and 4x?

As is easily guessed, the NEMA 4X is a subset of the NEMA 4 rating, so it provides the same level of protection against outdoor weather, particularly against dirt, rain, sleet and windblown dust. The difference is that the NEMA 4X must provide additional protection against corrosion beyond that provided by the NEMA 4.

Secondly, is NEMA 4 dust tight? NEMA 4 is watertight and dust-tight for inside and outdoor applications. The 4 rating does everything NEMA 1 does plus it has protection against water getting in; rain, sleet, snow, splashing water or hose directed water. NEMA 4/4X will also not be damaged by ice forming on the enclosure.

Subsequently, one may also ask, what is the difference between NEMA 3 and 4?

NEMA 3: For indoor or outdoor use. Same as NEMA 2 but adds stronger protection against the ingress of water and dust. It protects against windblown dust, rain, sleet, and snow and will be undamaged by ice forming on the enclosure. NEMA 4: Same as NEMA 3 but adds protection against hose directed water.

What does NEMA stand for?

National Electrical Manufacturer Association

24 Related Question Answers Found

What NEMA rating is waterproof?

NEMA Ratings and IP Equivalency Chart
NEMA Rating IP Equivalent Protection Against Solids
3R IP14 1 = Protected against solid foreign objects of 50mm in diameter and greater
3S IP54 5 = Protected against dust - Limited to ingress (no harmful deposit)
4 IP66 6 = Totally protected against dust
4X IP66 6 = Totally protected against dust

What is a Type 4 enclosure?

Type 4: Weather tight (weatherproof) enclosures. Constructed for either indoor or outdoor use to provide a degree of protection against falling dirt, rain, sleet, snow, windblown dust, splashing water, and hose-directed water. Will be undamaged by the external formation of ice on the enclosure.

What is a NEMA Type 4 enclosure?

NEMA 4 Enclosures. NEMA 4 enclosures are intended mainly for outdoor use where extra protection against moisture and wind driven rain is required. Our NEMA 4 enclosures come in powder coated carbon steel and are available in a variety of types, such as wall-mounted, free-standing and JIC.

What is ip65 rating?

IP65 Enclosure - IP rated as "dust tight" and protected against water projected from a nozzle. IP66 Enclosure - IP rated as "dust tight" and protected against heavy seas or powerful jets of water. IP 68 Enclosures - IP rated as "dust tight" and protected against complete, continuous submersion in water.

What NEMA rating is ip65?

Ratings Overview and Comparison
NEMA Rating (U.S.) IP Rating (International)
2 = IP22
12 = IP54
4 = IP65 / IP66
4X = IP65 ⁄ IP66

What are NEMA standards?

The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) defines standards used in North America for various grades of electrical enclosures typically used in industrial applications. Each is rated to protect against personal access to hazardous parts, and additional type-dependent designated environmental conditions.

Is NEMA 4x explosion proof?

For Clarification Purposes, Nema Enclosures Manufacturing does NOT provide Nema 7 or Explosion Proof Enclosure. In an environment where hazardous gases or dusts are always present a Class 1, Division 1 rated is required in North America and EX d for the rest of the world.

What is the meaning of ip66?

IP66 is usually a rating that is giving to outdoor cameras and it defines the camera's ability to keep out foreign objects. The IP stands for Ingress (the act of entering) Protection. The rating of 8, the highest rating, meaning the camera would be suitable for continuous submersion in water.

What does NEMA 14 50 mean?

The 14-50 has a rating of 50 A, and a straight neutral blade sized so that it does not mate with 14-30 connectors. NEMA 14-50 devices are frequently found in RV parks, since they are used for "shore power" connections of larger recreational vehicles.

What is NEMA Type 3r?

NEMA 3R enclosures are typically used in outdoor applications for wiring and junction boxes. This style of enclosure. provides protection against falling rain, sleet, snow, and external ice formation. Indoors they protect against dripping water. This style of enclosure does not have a gasketed sealing surface.

Is NEMA 3r outdoor rated?

NEMA 3R Enclosures. Our adherence to UL 508A standards will give you a quality weatherproof enclosure resistant to rain, ice, and snow. NEMA 3R enclosures are compatible for both indoor or outdoor applications and holds the least demanding rating for outdoor use.

What is a NEMA 9 enclosure?

NEMA 9 enclosures are designed to prevent the ignition of combustible dust. The enclosures prevent dust from entering and prevent enclosed heat generating devices from causing external surfaces to reach temperatures capable of igniting dust on the enclosure or igniting dust in the air surrounding the enclosure.

What is NEMA Type 12?

Nema Enclosures produce NEMA 12 enclosures which are intended mainly for indoor industrial, manufacturing, and machining applications. These metal enclosures will protect against dust, dirt, and dripping non-corrosive liquids, oil and lubricants.

Is NEMA 3r stainless steel?

3R Stainless Steel enclosure option for enclosed VFDs.
The NEMA 3R Stainless Steel enclosure option is more economical than an equivalent NEMA 4X assembly which may be excessive for the application and require an air conditioning unit.

Can NEMA 12 be used outside?

Can a NEMA 12 enclosure be used outside? NEMA 12 enclosures are not recommended for outdoor use. They're rated for indoor use only.

What NEMA 7 enclosure?

NEMA 7 enclosures are designed to contain an internal explosion without causing an external hazard. These enclosures are intended for indoor use in hazardous locations classified as Class I, Division I, Groups A,B,C, or D.

What is a Class 1 Div 2 area?

Class II, Division 1: One of the following three situations must exist in order for an area to be considered a Class II, Division 1 location: Where combustible dust is present in the air under normal operating conditions in such a quantity as to produce explosive or ignitable mixtures.