What do you need to do to get a real estate license in Texas?

Asked By: Konstantin Peltsman | Last Updated: 26th March, 2020
Category: real estate real estate buying and selling
4.3/5 (116 Views . 17 Votes)
You must be either a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien.
  1. Complete 180-hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
  2. Pass the course final exams.
  3. Complete your license application.
  4. Provide fingerprints.
  5. Pass the Texas Real Estate Salesperson Exam.
  6. Select a sponsoring broker.

Click to see full answer


Hereof, how much does it cost to get a real estate license in Texas?

The total cost to get a Texas real estate license depends on a number of factors. State application and related fees are around $350 for a new sales agent, and the Texas Real Estate Salesperson Exam fee is $54.

Similarly, how long does it take to become a real estate agent in Texas? Getting a Realtor license in Texas involves multiple steps that span several months. While the individual pace can vary, on average getting a real estate license in Texas takes four to six months. However, you can complete the requirements in eight weeks if you are committed to an intense study schedule.

Similarly, what is required to get a real estate license in Texas?

You must be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, and meet TREC's qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity in order to receive your real estate license in Texas.

What is required for a real estate license?

Requirements to gain a real estate agent's licence will vary from state to state. Complete work experience. Complete a real estate course delivered by a registered training organisation, such as a Certificate IV in Property Services (Real Estate) (CPP40307) . Apply for your real estate agent's licence.

38 Related Question Answers Found

Is Texas real estate exam hard?

It is hard to fully understand the state, its places, and its laws. That is why the state's real estate exam can be so difficult. The process for passing the Texas real estate exam begins long before the test itself. Next, the test itself is a demanding process.

Is it hard to get realtor license in Texas?

How hard is the real estate exam in Texas? Well, given that only 57.09% of agents pass the licensing exam on the first try, it's safe to say it's not an easy test. Taking real estate courses with a TREC-approved real estate school helps you prepare, but it's just the first step.

Can I get my real estate license online in Texas?

Get Your Texas Real Estate License Online – Full 180 Hour Package – The Fastest and Most Affordable Way to Get Your Texas Real Estate License! Change careers or earn extra income on the side.

What does real estate school cost?

Fees Breakdown by Course
Course Fee
Real Estate Investment Analysis $505
Principles of Mortgage Financing $505
Principles of Property Management $505
Real Estate Broker Course $925

Will real estate companies pay for your license?


Here's the rundown on fees: Licensing. If you talk to a real estate company before you take the class and get licensed, they'll pay for the class. They'll pay for it, then take the fee back out of your first commission.

Can you get a real estate license without a college degree?

Like most jobs in sales, you do not need a college degree to become a real estate agent or broker. To get a real estate broker license, you need 60 to 90 hours of training (depending on your state) and one to three years of experience as real estate sales agent.

How long is Realtor school?

Real estate license school
Depending upon the state that you are in and the number of hours offered per week, in most cases the educational requirements in a classroom setting can be completed in 4-6 months. An online real estate school can decrease the educational period from a few months to mere weeks.

How do I become a part time realtor?

15 Steps to Becoming a Successful Part-Time Real Estate Agent
  1. Decide on a Brokerage.
  2. Find Out and Complete Your Pre-Licensure Requirements.
  3. Sit For (and Pass!)
  4. Join Your Local Board.
  5. Protect Your Full-Time Job and Decide What You Can Devote to Real Estate.
  6. Pick Your Real Estate Schedule.

Do Realtors make base salary?

Base Pay Structures
Considered a less usual way of doing business, some brokers hire real estate agents as salaried employees. Such brokers usually pay their agents a regular, modest salary plus a small commission of their sales; commission may be based on other criteria such as customer satisfaction.

Do real estate courses expire in Texas?


Once you have earned your Real Estate license, you will need to renew every two years by completing additional Continuing Education classes and paying a renewal fee to the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC).

Can you be a real estate agent in two states?

Real estate agents can hold licenses in multiple states, and there's no restriction in place to prevent multiple licenses. If you're a licensed real estate agent, your state might have reciprocity with other states. Reciprocal states usually border each other.

Can I take the real estate exam without classes?

Examination Requirements
Each state requires that you complete a state-administered real estate licensing examination prior to getting your real estate license. Many schools offer real estate exam preparation courses. These exam prep classes are not required by the state.

Who must take the broker responsibility course?

Any licensees—whether brokers or salespersons—who are authorized by brokers to supervise other licensees must also take the course. This course must be taken every two-year license period and will count as part of the required 15 hours of MCE all licensees are required to take.

How long is a Texas real estate license good for?

How Long is Your Real Estate License Good For in Texas? Your real estate license is good for two years in Texas. To keep your Texas real estate license continually active, you simply need to renew your license every two years. Two years is a good timeframe.

Do you have to be a resident of Texas to get a real estate license?


First, you must be 18 years of age or older. Second, you should be a legal resident in the state of Texas. Once you've determined that you qualify to become a real estate salesperson in the state of Texas, you can then start working towards completing your state required real estate education.

What is the best online real estate school in Texas?

Here are the best online real estate school in Texas (based on TREC exam pass rate):
  • AceableAgent.
  • Brightwood/Kaplan Real Estate Education.
  • Real Estate Express.
  • Career Webschool/OnCourse Learning.
  • Champions School of Real Estate.
  • Austin Institute of Real Estate/Real Estate Business School.

What's the difference between a real estate agent and a broker?

A real estate agent is anyone who has earned a real estate license. A real estate broker is an agent who has also passed their broker license exam. The primary difference between a real estate agent and broker is that a broker can own a real estate firm or hire agents to work for them.