What are the three subdivisions of the pharynx?

Asked By: Davis Bigi | Last Updated: 28th May, 2020
Category: medical health ear nose and throat conditions
4.4/5 (131 Views . 25 Votes)
The human pharynx is conventionally divided into three sections: the nasopharynx, oropharynx, and laryngopharynx. It is also important in vocalization.

Click to see full answer

Also question is, what are the three parts of the pharynx and their functions?

The pharynx is approximately 12.5 centimeters long and is divided into three parts. These parts include the nasopharynx, oropharynx, and laryngopharynx. The nasopharynx is the most superior, or uppermost, part of the pharynx that works with the nasal cavity during breathing.

Furthermore, what makes up the pharynx? The pharynx is a muscular tube that connects the oral and nasal cavity to the larynx and oesophagus. It begins at the base of the skull, and ends at the inferior border of the cricoid cartilage (C6). The pharynx is comprised of three parts (superior to inferior): Nasopharynx.

In this manner, how many divisions are there of the pharynx?


What is the Laryngopharynx?

The laryngopharynx is where both food and air pass. It can be found between the hyoid bone and the larynx and esophagus, which helps guide food and air where to go. It is a part of the pharynx.

38 Related Question Answers Found

What is the function of the epiglottis?

The epiglottis is a leaf-shaped flap of cartilage located behind the tongue, at the top of the larynx, or voice box. The main function of the epiglottis is to seal off the windpipe during eating, so that food is not accidentally inhaled.

What is the function of bronchi?

The bronchi, singularly known as a bronchus, are extensions of the windpipe that shuttle air to and from the lungs. Think of them as highways for gas exchange, with oxygen going to the lungs and carbon dioxide leaving the lungs through them. They are part of the conducting zone of the respiratory system.

Is the pharynx an organ?

Organs of the Respiratory System
These organs are shown in Figure below. In addition to the lungs, these organs include the pharynx, larynx, trachea and bronchi. The nasal cavity is also part of the respiratory system. The pharynx is a long tube that is shared with the digestive system.

Is epiglottis part of larynx?

The epiglottis sits at the entrance of the larynx. It is shaped like a leaf of purslane and has a free upper part that rests behind the tongue, and a lower stalk (Latin: petiolus). The stalk originates from the back surface of the thyroid cartilage, connected by a thyroepiglottic ligament.

What is the function of Oesophagus?

The esophagus is a long, thin, and muscular tube that connects the pharynx (throat) to the stomach. It forms an important piece of the gastrointestinal tract and functions as the conduit for food and liquids that have been swallowed into the pharynx to reach the stomach.

What moves the epiglottis?

When you swallow, a flap called the epiglottis moves to block the entrance of food particles into your larynx and lungs. The muscles of the larynx pull upward to assist with this movement. They also tightly close during swallowing. That prevents food from entering your lungs.

What is difference between larynx and pharynx?

The main difference between pharynx and larynx is that pharynx is a part of an alimentary canal, which extends from the nasal cavity and mouth to the larynx and the esophagus whereas larynx is the upper portion of the trachea. Both air and food pass through the pharynx. The wall of the larynx is made up of cartilage.

What are the parts of the larynx?

Parts of the larynx
  • supraglottis - the area above the vocal cords that contains the epiglottis cartilage.
  • glottis - the area of the vocal cords.
  • subglottis - the part below the vocal cords, containing the cricoid cartilage that continues down into the windpipe.

What organs are found in the nasopharynx?

The pharynx is divided into three regions: the nasopharynx, the oropharynx, and the laryngopharynx. The nasopharynx is flanked by the conchae of the nasal cavity, and it serves only as an airway. At the top of the nasopharynx are the pharyngeal tonsils.

What is the difference between glottis and Rima Glottidis?

Rima glottidis
The space between the vocal cords changes depending on the activity the larynx is involved in. During regular breathing at rest, the glottis is a narrow wedge shape, but during forced respiration it is a wide triangular shape and the vocal cords are as far apart as they can extend.

What does the larynx do for the respiratory system?

The larynx is a tough, flexible segment of the respiratory tract connecting the pharynx to the trachea in the neck. It plays a vital role in the respiratory tract by allowing air to pass through it while keeping food and drink from blocking the airway.

Is pharynx part of respiratory system?

There are 3 major parts of the respiratory system: the airway, the lungs, and the muscles of respiration. The airway, which includes the nose, mouth, pharynx, larynx, trachea, bronchi, and bronchioles, carries air between the lungs and the body's exterior.

Is the larynx is posterior to the esophagus?

The larynx is posterior to the esophagus. The larynx is anterior to the esophagus.

Is the larynx the voice box?

Voice box: The voice box, or larynx, is the portion of the respiratory (breathing) tract containing the vocal cords which produce sound. It is located between the pharynx and the trachea. The larynx, also called the voice box, is a 2-inch-long, tube-shaped organ in the neck.

What is the difference between the nasopharynx oropharynx and Laryngopharynx?

However, in general, in both rodents and humans the nasopharynx is located beneath the base of the skull and dorsal to the soft palate, the oropharynx lies between the end of the soft palate and tip of the epiglottis, and the laryngopharynx extends from the tip of the epiglottis posterior to the beginning of the

How long is the pharynx?

Pharynx is 12–14 cm in its vertical length and extends from the base of skull to the upper border of upper esophageal sphincter (UES) [14].

What is the pharynx commonly called?

The pharynx, commonly called the throat, is a passageway that extends from the base of the skull to the level of the sixth cervical vertebra. It serves both the respiratory and digestive systems by receiving air from the nasal cavity and air, food, and water from the oral cavity.