What are the characteristics of phylum Mollusca?

Asked By: Dorica Sobha | Last Updated: 23rd May, 2020
Category: pets fish and aquariums
4.7/5 (112 Views . 14 Votes)
Characteristic Features of Phylum Mollusca
  • They are bilaterally symmetrical.
  • They are triploblastic, which three layers.
  • They show organ system grade of organisation.
  • The body is soft and unsegmented.
  • Body is divisible into three regions – head, a visceral mass, and ventral foot.
  • Body is covered by a mantle and shell.

Click to see full answer

Also, what are five characteristics of phylum Mollusca?

General Characteristics of Phylum Mollusca:

  • Habitat: They are mostly marine.
  • Body Form: The body of molluscs is un-segmented with a distinct head, muscular foot and visceral hump.
  • Symmetry: They usually show bilateral symmetry.
  • Shell:
  • Mantle (Pallium):
  • Body wall:
  • Body cavity:
  • Digestive tract:

Also Know, what are the three most common characters of Mollusca? The three main parts of a mollusk's body include a muscular foot, a visceral mass, and a mantle. The three main types of mollusks are gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods. Gastropods, like slugs and snails, can live on land or in the water.

Accordingly, what is the phylum of Mollusca?


What makes a mollusc?

Molluscs (also called mollusks) are soft-bodied, unsegmented animals, with a body organized into a muscular foot, a head, a visceral mass containing most of the organ systems, and a fleshy mantle that secretes the calcareous shell.

29 Related Question Answers Found

What is unique about Mollusca?

Molluscs are a clade of organisms that all have soft bodies which typically have a "head" and a "foot" region. Often their bodies are covered by a hard exoskeleton, as in the shells of snails and clams or the plates of chitons. Besides having yummy soft parts, molluscs often have desirable hard parts.

How are mollusks born?

HOW DO MOLLUSKS REPRODUCE? Mollusks reproduce sexually. Slugs and snails are hermaphrodites (possessing both male and female organs), but they must still mate to fertilize their eggs. Most aquatic mollusks lay eggs that hatch into small, free-swimming larvae called veliger.

Which is the only one example of Mollusca phylum?

Molluscs have more varied forms than any other animal phylum. They include snails, slugs and other gastropods; clams and other bivalves; squids and other cephalopods; and other lesser-known but similarly distinctive subgroups.

What are the different types of phylum?

The different phyla in the classification of animals are as follows:
  • Phylum Porifera.
  • Phylum Coelenterata.
  • Phylum Platyhelminthes.
  • Phylum Nematoda.
  • Phylum Annelida.
  • Phylum Arthropoda.
  • Phylum Mollusca.
  • Phylum Echinodermata.

How are mollusks classified?

Mollusks are subdivided into seven classes with most species found in three of those classes: Gastropoda, Bivalvia, and Cephalopoda. Gastropods make up the largest class of mollusks, and they include both snails and slugs. The remaining classes (Polyplacophora, Aplacophora, and Monoplacophora) have fewer species.

What are the 7 classes of mollusks?

Phylum Mollusca is classified into seven classes;
  • GASTROPODA (single shelled cowries, cones etc)
  • BIVALVIA ( two shelled like clams, mussels etc)
  • APLACOPHORA (solenogasters)
  • MONOPLACOPHORA (segmented limpets)
  • POLYPLACOPHORA ( or Amphineura as it was earlier called- Chitons)
  • SCAPHOPODA (tusk shells)

How are mollusks important to humans?

Mollusks are important in a variety of ways; they are used as food, for decoration, in jewelry, and in scientific studies. They are even used as roadbed material and in vitamin supplements.

What are the 6 molluscs?

Molluscs include mussels, scallops, oysters, clams, snails, periwinkles, whelks, squid and octopus. Marine molluscs and crustaceans are often collectively referred to as "shellfish". An allergy to molluscs can be severe with a risk of anaphylaxis.

What are the 5 main classes of Mollusca?

The major classes of living mollusks include gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods (Figure below).
  • Gastropods. Gastropods include snails and slugs. They use their foot to crawl.
  • Bivalves. Bivalves include clams, scallops, oysters, and mussels.
  • Cephalopods. Cephalopods include the octopus and squid.

Are jellyfish mollusks?

Jellyfish are found all over the world, from surface waters to the deep sea. Scyphozoans (the "true jellyfish") are exclusively marine, but some hydrozoans with a similar appearance live in freshwater.

Phylum: Cnidaria
Subphylum: Medusozoa
Groups included

Are mollusks cold blooded?

They have an exoskeleton, a segmented body, and jointed legs. They do not have a backbone and are cold-blooded. Mollusks are soft-bodied animals and many have hard external shells. Birds are warm-blooded, have wings, feathers, a beak, and their babies hatch from eggs.

How do Chitons eat?

Chitons eat algae, bryozoans, diatoms, barnacles. Sometimes they eat bacteria by scraping the rocky substrate with their well-developed radulae. The radula is used to scrape microscopic algae and even bacteria off the rocks they are grazing.

Do all mollusks have a foot?

All mollusks have a thin layer of tissue called a mantle which covers their internal organs. The mantle produces the mollusk's shell. Clams, oysters, snails, and octopuses are all mollusks. Most mollusks move with a muscular structure called a foot.

Is Octopus a fish?

To be more specific, an octopus belongs to a unique class of mollusks known as cephalopods. This class includes other creatures such as squid. To put it in simpler terms, this why an octopus has no bones — no skeleton — it is an invertebrate. A fish has a backbone and a skeleton — it is a vertebrate.