Is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green 2019?

Asked By: Saihou Hairyuzov | Last Updated: 3rd April, 2020
Category: sports golf
4/5 (1,175 Views . 33 Votes)
2019 Rule: Under Rule 13.1d, there will no longer be a penalty if a player (or opponent) accidentally causes the player's ball to move on the putting green.

Click to see full answer


Correspondingly, is there a penalty for hitting another golf ball on the green?

There is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping) moves another ball. However, in stroke play, when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes.

Also Know, what are the 20 new golf rules for 2019? 20 Must Know Rules of Golf Changes for 2019

  • Drop from knee height (NOT shoulder height)
  • Measure the area to drop in with the longest club in your bag (except a putter)
  • Drop in and play from the relief area.
  • When dropping back-on-the-line, your ball cannot be played from nearer the hole than your chosen reference point.

Regarding this, what happens if you hit someone else's ball in golf?

A player who hits someone else's ball in match play loses the hole, according to Rule 15-3a. As in stroke play, there is an exception for a ball that's in motion within a water hazard; no penalty is assessed, provided the player corrects his mistake by playing his original ball, or a substituted ball.

What happens if a bird picks up your golf ball?

According to Rule 18-1, when a ball has been moved by an outside agency, you have to replace it at the spot where it was picked up. For you, that means back in the rough. If you don't know exactly where the bird grabbed your ball, you can approximate it (Rule 20-3c). Either way, there is no penalty.

38 Related Question Answers Found

How many golf balls can a pro golfer carry?

Under the Rules of Golf, a golfer can carry as many golf balls as they want in their bag. Really, they can carry as many golf balls as they're willing to carry around themselves or their caddie is willing to lug around for them. Most PGA Tour golfers carry in the area of nine golf balls in their bag per round.

What happens if your golf ball hits another golf ball on the green?

There is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping) moves another ball. However, in stroke play, when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes.

Can you chip on a putting green?

A golfer can use a wedge to hit a chip shot on a green if they feel it will get them closer to the hole than putting the ball on the putting surface. In that case, a golfer may use a wedge to chip the ball from one part of the green to another, going over the obstructing portion of the green, for the best result.

What happens if you hit the ball on your practice swing?

If a golfer hits the ball with a practice swing when the ball is teed up or before the first shot of a hole, then the stroke doesn't count and the golfer can replace the ball to hit it again without penalty. However, once the tee shot on a hole is struck, the ball is in play until it is holed.

Does it count if the golf ball bounces out of the hole?


If your golfball bounces in and then out of the hole, it counts as one stroke of course. A ball is "holed" when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole. This makes it clear that the hole is not finished.

What happens if a golfer accidentally makes contact when addressing the ball 1 point?

(ii) the equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move,the player incurs a penalty of one stroke. The implication is that if a player purposely touches their ball with their club other than in the act of addressing their ball (why would they?) a penalty is incurred.

Can you change your golf ball on the green?

Thus, the substitution of a ball on the putting green other than when permitted by the Rules (i.e, a ball unfit for play) is contrary to Rule 15-2. However, a player may change golf balls between the play of two holes.

What is the penalty if your golf ball hits you?

No Penalty to Any Player
If a player's ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence: There is no penalty to any player. This is true even if the ball hits the player, the opponent or any other player or any of their caddies or equipment.

What is the rule for hitting the wrong golf ball?

Resolution 1. Rule 15-3b: If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes. The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules.

What is the one ball rule in golf?


The PGA Tour uses a one-ball rule, which means players can only use one specific brand and model of ball during a round. The penalty for using a different model is two strokes per hole that the ball is used, maximum of eight strokes.

Can you pick up your ball in the fairway?

Traditionally, "preferred lies" means a golfer can lift a golf ball that is in the ?fairway and move it up to six inches in any direction (but not closer to the hole), but there are variations on the length that is allowed.

How do you play a lost ball?

Rule 27-1: If a ball is lost as a result of not being found or identified as his by the player within five minutes after the player's side or his or their caddies have begun to search for it, the player must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was

Do you have to mark your ball on the putting green?

You are never required to mark your ball on the green. If it's near the hole or near another players line of putt, as a courtesy, you should mark and lift it. However, if you leave your ball in place, and another player asks you to mark it, you have the option of either marking it or playing it, your choice.

What two organizations approve the rules of golf?


The term "Rules" can be said to include the following: Decisions on the Rules of Golf, a book published every two years by the USGA and R&A to clarify questions raised by the Rules.

Can you leave the flag in the hole when putting?

The New Rule: According to the USGA, under Rule 13.2a(2), “There will no longer be a penalty if a ball played from the putting green hits a flagstick left in the hole.” Players will still have the option to remove the flagstick or to have someone tend the pin and remove it after the ball is struck.

Does a golf ball have to hit the bottom of the cup?

“Holed: When your ball is at rest in the hole after a stroke and the entire ball is below the surface of the putting green. When the Rules refer “holing out” or “hole out”, it means the player's ball is holed.” (no mention of having to be at the bottom of the cup!) Your ball is NOT HOLED and must be played as it lies.