How much does it cost to tint windows in NYC?

Asked By: Feliz Vilkovsky | Last Updated: 27th March, 2020
Category: music and audio tv and film podcasts
4.1/5 (2,367 Views . 39 Votes)
Section 375 (12-a) of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law does not allow a windshield or front side windows that are dark. The windshield and front side windows cannot block more than 30% of the light. Seventy percent or more of the light from the outside must pass through the window.

Click to see full answer


Regarding this, how much does it cost to tint windows?

A basic tint for an average-sized car using standard film may cost $99 for the entire vehicle. Using higher quality tint costs between $199 to $400 for the entire vehicle, depending on several factors, Aburumuh says. “That's the price for heat rejecter tints,” Aburumuh says.

Similarly, how much is a ticket in NYC for tinted windows? You May Want To Take a look at this.. Window tints can effectively reduce visibility into a car stylishly creating a sense of privacy. The penalty for illegal window tinting can be up to $150.

Also know, what is the darkest legal tint in NY?

Window tint darkness in New York

  • Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in (non-reflective tint with any darkness can be used on top 6 inches).
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.

Is Window Tint illegal in New York?

Section 375 (12-a) of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law does not allow a windshield or front side windows that are dark. The windshield and front side windows cannot block more than 30% of the light. Seventy percent or more of the light from the outside must pass through the window.

33 Related Question Answers Found

What does 35% window tint look like?

“Let's do 35% on the back windows,” means 35% of the visible light will pass through the window film. In the simplest terms, the lower the percentage, the darker the window film will be. A 5% VLT film is very dark as it only lets though 5% of visible light and a 70% film is very light as it lets through 70%.

What's the darkest legal tint?

Every state or county is able to set their own law on an allowable tint limit. The common allowable limits are 50 percent for the driver's front and passenger's front window, and 35 percent for the rear passenger or side windows and the rear windshield.

Is applying window tint hard?

Tinting of windows is not hard, but it is difficult. It requires lots of patience and if you mess it up, it will be very difficult to remove the film. You will need very steady hand so that you do not leave air bubbles.

Why is it illegal to have tinted windows?


The federal Motor Vehicle Safety Act regulates the level of factory tint on the windshield and other windows — a minimum of 70 per cent of light can pass through the glass. But, generally, the provinces regulate what you do with your car once you get it — how you drive it and any aftermarket changes you make.

Can you get house windows tinted?

Tinted windows are common on office buildings and store fronts, but they're relatively new for the home. Much like cars, window films are now being used in residential settings to offer homeowners the benefits of a sun filter to block some sunlight, while allowing other light into the home.

Should I get my windows tinted?

There are many good reasons to do an aftermarket tint to a vehicle's windows. Depending on the VLT level of tint there is the ability to make it hard for a driver to see in another vehicle's windows. Window tinting also blocks up to 99% harmful UV rays, which helps to keep the interior in better shape.

How long should you not roll down windows after tinting?

If windows are rolled down while the film is still curing to the glass, the tint will most likely peel off. So in order to allow the tint ample time to cure, it's recommended that you leave your windows rolled up for at least 24 hours after installation (some window film installers even recommend waiting 2-4 days).

What does 30% tint mean?

30% Tint is a light tint and is generally acceptable. The legal amount of tinting of any car window is measured by its light transmittance (LT), the amount of light that can pass through the tinted windows. However the back windows can often be tinted darker than the front or even blacked out.

Is 35 percent tint legal in NY?


Tinted windows do not pose a safety risk. A 35% tint can still be seen through, and gives law enforcement officers plenty of visibility, while giving shade, UV protection and privacy to the vehicle's occupants. New York should allow tinting to 35% VLT on the front windows, and 5% VLT on the rear sides and back.

Can you pass inspection with tinted windows NY?

According to the new law, the tint on your windows has to allow 70 percent of light to pass through. If windows are tinted too dark, the entire vehicle will fail inspection. According to the new law, the tint on your windows has to allow 70 percent of light to pass through.

What is legal tint in NY?

New York state window tint law says that all windshield and front side windows must have a tint that allows for at least 70 percent of the outside light to pass through.

What tint allows 70% of light in?

A typical light tint allows 70 percent of the light in. A medium tint is about 20 percent, and a super-dark "limo tint" allows only about 5 percent of light through. Legally compliant VLT ratings vary from state to state, with the strictest states requiring 70 percent of the light makes it through the glass.

Are smoked headlights illegal in NY?

Registered. Smoked headlights are illegal in any state, they're off-road only, but so are aftermarket HID kits and everyone runs them.

Why are tinted windows illegal in NY?


New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law does not allow a windshield or front side windows to block more than 30 percent of the light coming into a vehicle, meaning that 70 percent or more of the light from the outside must pass through the window.

Do you get points on your license for tinted windows?

If your front side windows or windscreen are found to be too heavily tinted, you are committing an offense. You can be issued with an Endorseable Fixed Penalty Notice (EFPN) – meaning your license will be endorsed with 3 points, plus you will be served a £60 fine.

How can I legally tint my windows?

Tinting is permitted only along the top 5 inches of the windshield. Side and rear windows may not be covered or treated with tinting that allows a light transmittance of less than 35%. Reflective material is not permitted on any vehicle windows. All windows except the rear window must contain 2-way glass.