How many categories are there in the Baldrige Award?

Asked By: Noriko Braunel | Last Updated: 7th April, 2020
Category: business and finance business administration
4.1/5 (186 Views . 32 Votes)
Awards can be given annually in six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, healthcare and nonprofit. The award is named after the late Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige, a proponent of quality management.

Click to see full answer

Keeping this in consideration, what is the Baldrige Award criteria?

The Seven MBNQA Criteria Categories Recipients are selected based on achievement and improvement in seven areas, known as the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence: Measurement, analysis, and knowledge management: How the organization uses data to support key processes and manage performance.

Subsequently, question is, what are the seven categories in the Baldrige criteria for performance excellence? Below are seven steps toward developing responses to the individual questions in all seven categories of the Criteria for Performance Excellence (Leadership; Strategy; Customers; Measurement, Analysis, and Knowledge Management; Workforce; Operations; and Results):

Also question is, what are the various evaluation categories of the Malcolm Baldrige Award?

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award A total of 18 awards may be given out each year in six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, healthcare, and non-profit. Within the overall limit of 18, there is no limit on awards in individual categories.

What are the Baldrige principles?

The principles he championed — managing for innovation, entrepreneurship, customer-driven excellence, integrity, visionary leadership, creating value, agility, societal responsibility, and a focus on the future — became known as the Baldrige Principles. In a word, they all point to “quality.”

25 Related Question Answers Found

What are quality awards?

What is Quality Award. 1. A prize to recognize excellence in organizations for their performance; generally given by government of nor profit organizations after assessing their quality systems.

How does the Baldrige Award work?

The Baldrige Award was never designed to reward product or service excellence alone. Quality results do matter; 250 of the available 1,000 points are for product, service, process, supplier, and customer satisfaction results. But the bulk of the award focuses on management systems and processes.

What are the Baldrige core values and concepts?

It's the Core Values and Concepts that have the critical value
  • Visionary Leadership.
  • Customer-Driven Excellence.
  • Organizational and Personal Learning.
  • Valuing Workforce and Partners.
  • Agility.
  • Focus on the Future.
  • Managing for Innovation.
  • Management by Fact.

What is the Baldrige model?

The Baldrige Excellence Framework empowers your organization—no matter its size, and whether it is in the manufacturing, service, small business, nonprofit or government sector— to: Reach your goals. Improve your results. Become more competitive by aligning your plans, processes, decisions, people, actions, and results.

Who can apply for the Baldrige Award?

Eligibility of Baldrige Award Recipients
After five years, award recipients may apply for the award or, if they wish, for feedback only. Similarly, if a subunit receives the Baldrige Award, that subunit and all its subunits are ineligible to apply for the award for five years.

Why is the Baldrige award important?

The main purpose of the Baldrige Award is to: Raise awareness about the importance of performance excellence. Recognize companies that show performance excellence and pass on this information to other organizations to tailor it for their own needs.

How do I apply for Malcolm Baldrige Award?

Federal government websites often end in . gov or . mil.

How to Apply for the Baldrige Award
  1. 2020 Due Dates. Eligibility Certification Package.
  2. Step 1: Submit an Eligibility Certification Package.
  3. Step 2: Submit an Award Application Package.

Who created the Malcolm Baldrige Award?

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award was established by Congress to promote improved quality of goods and services in U.S. companies and organizations. The goal of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Improvement Act of 1987 (Public Law 100-107) was to enhance the competitiveness of U.S. businesses.

What is Baldrige training?

The BETE is a highly interactive training experience in which you will learn how to use the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence to. evaluate an organization's processes, evaluate an organization's results, and. write actionable feedback that can help any organization improve.

What is the only service company to have won the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award twice?

MEDRAD Inc., a business of Bayer HealthCare, on November 23 joined an elite group of only five companies that have received the prestigious Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award more than once.

Which of the following are basic assumptions that justify an analysis of the costs of quality?

Three basic assumptions justify an analysis of the costs of quality: (1) failures are caused, (2) prevention is cheaper, and (3) performance can be measured. Internal failure costs: costs for defects incurred within the system: scrap, rework, repair.

What is performance excellence?

Performance excellence refers to an integrated approach to organizational performance management that results in. Delivery of ever-improving value to customers and stakeholders, contributing to organizational sustainability. Improvement of overall organizational effectiveness and capabilities.

What companies have won the Malcolm Baldrige Award?

Baldrige Award Recipients
Year Award Recipient Sector
2004 The Bama Companies, Tulsa, OK manufacturing
Texas Nameplate Company, Inc., Dallas, TX small business
Kenneth W. Monfort College of Business, Greeley, CO education
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Hamilton, Hamilton, NJ health care

What is the Baldrige process?

Baldrige at a Glance
Baldrige provides a framework to improve your organization's performance and get sustainable results. Whether your organization is— large or small, service or manufacturing, education or health care, government or nonprofit, has one site or worldwide locations, Baldrige can work for you.

What are the Studer principles?

2. Studer Group's Nine Principles® provide organizations with a sequenced step-by-step process to attain desired results. For details, visit and search on "Nine Principles®." 3. Studer Group's Five Pillars include People, Service, Quality, Finance, and Growth.

What are the business excellence criteria?

The categories are leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resource focus, process management and business results. Model is also commonly known as the Baldrige model, the Baldrige criteria, or the Criteria for Performance Excellence.