How do you get a security guard license in Georgia?

Asked By: Taryn Ragunathan | Last Updated: 19th January, 2020
Category: business and finance government business
4.8/5 (129 Views . 20 Votes)
Armed Security Guard Requirements in Georgia:
  1. The applicant must be at least 18 years old.
  2. The applicant must have a high school diploma or the equivalency.
  3. A criminal background check must be completed.
  4. The applicant must submit fingerprints.
  5. The applicant must complete the certified training.

Click to see full answer


Similarly, do you need a security license in Georgia?

To become an unarmed security guard in Georgia, no license is required. However, potential applicant must meet other qualifications, which includes 24 hours of classroom training.

Similarly, how much does a armed guard license cost? The State Fee for the Florida license is $112, and the armed G license is valid for two(2) years. OU CANNOT WORK SECURITY ARMED WITH A CONCEALED FIREARMS LICENSE (CCW).

In this way, where do you get a security guard license?

In California, security guards are licensed by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS). In order to get a security guard license (guard card), you must first complete a pre-licensing course, often referred to as a “guard card class”. The guard card class is 8 hours long and can be completed in one day.

What is a guard card license?

The guard card is the basic license issued by the California Bureau of Security & Investigative Services. The guard card training is the first step new guards must accomplish in order to submit their application to the State of California.

35 Related Question Answers Found

Do you need a security guard license to be a security guard?

First, you have to apply for a license in whichever state you reside. Almost all states require a high school diploma or GED for security guard licensing, and some may require a higher degree depending on if you plan to operate your own security company.

What is a Georgia Blue Card?

1. A Georgia Blue Card is needed only if you are interested in becoming an Armed Guard. 2. The only way you can register for a Blue Card is if you have completed the State Certified Armed Guard Training Course. ( The State Certified Training has to be completed prior to Applying for the Blue Card License.

How do I get my unarmed security guard license?

Requirements for an unarmed license:
  1. Minimum of 18 years old.
  2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
  3. Have a background check.
  4. U.S. Citizen and resident of the state.
  5. No felony convictions.
  6. Training at a state certified school. (8 hours)
  7. Submit an application.
  8. 16 hours of on-the-job training with your security employer.

What is a blue card in security?

Armed Security Officer (Blue Card)
Security personnel, uniformed or not, working with a firearm in the course of their assigned duties, must posses a “Class 1” endorsement on their state permit. Students must qualify with the firearm they will be working with for the job.

What states require a security guard license?


Security Guard & Security Officer Requirements - Select Your State
  • Alabama. Alaska. Arizona. Arkansas. California. Colorado. Connecticut. District of Columbia.
  • Kentucky. Louisiana. Maine. Maryland. Massachusetts. Michigan. Minnesota. Mississippi.
  • North Dakota. Ohio. Oklahoma. Oregon. Pennsylvania. Rhode Island. South Carolina. South Dakota.

Can I use my California guard card in another state?

California BSIS does not accept a security license from any other state. To be a security guard in the state of California you need to complete the training, fingerprinting and background check for California before you can work as a security guard.

Can you get your security license online?

You can apply for the license online through ServiceOntario or you can print out a hard copy application and send it in by mail.

How much do security guards make?

A Security Guard can earn a salary of between 16000 to 24000 depending on education and experience. Security Guards can expect an average compensation of Twenty Six Thousand Four Hundred dollars every year.

How can I check my security license?

Visit the ServiceOntario website to check the online licence registry:
  1. the licence status of a security guard and/or private investigator.
  2. the licence status of an agency that sells the services of security guards and/or private investigators.

What kind of drug test do security guards take?


Companies that provide security guards and patrol services are grouped under NAICS 561612.

Types of Drug Tests Used in Security Companies
  • Urine Drug Test – Urine drug testing is considered to be the most technologically advanced yet quite affordable drug testing method.
  • Saliva Test – Saliva drug testing is non-invasive.

What is a private security license?

Private security licence types are: Individual Licences. Security Guarding (which incorporates a number of sub activities – armed and unarmed guard, cash-in-transit, guarding with a dog, control room operator and monitoring centre operator) Crowd Controller. Investigators.

WHO Issues Security license?

The Controlling Authority for the State is responsible for issuance of private security agency license, renewal and regulation of operation of private security agencies. In addition, the Act also empowers the State Government to make rules for carrying out the provisions of this Act.

How much does it cost to get a security license in Florida?

Proof of fingerprinting. Proof of required training. Licensing fee of $45 for Class D license or $112 for Class G license (or $127 if you're requesting a temporary Class G license, too).

Where can I renew my security guard license?

Renew, replace or change information on a security guard or private investigator licence. All licence renewals are valid for two years. Visit the ServiceOntario website to: renew your licence.

How long does it take to become a armed security guard?

Requirements for Armed Security Guards
As with all security guards, you must also complete your 16 Hour In Service Training Course within 90 days of starting work as a security guard.

How much is a class G security license?

Class G Security License in Florida
G license security officers are must re-qualify for annually for 4 hours of firearms training for the Florida G License Renewal. The G license Florida cost is $205 for the class only.