How do I take my permit test in Georgia?

Asked By: Luetta Pena | Last Updated: 11th June, 2020
Category: careers vocational training
4.2/5 (31 Views . 44 Votes)
Georgia residents can apply for a learner's permit starting at age 15. To get this permit, also called a Class CP Instructional Permit, teens will need to bring a number of documents with them, pay a $10 fee, pass a vision test, and pass a test based on road signs and road rules.

Click to see full answer


Hereof, can I take my permit test online in Georgia?

New drivers can even head to the Georgia DDS website to take an online learners permit practice exam. The applicant must be at least 15 years old and a parent or guardian must be present to sign the application. There is a $10 fee to take the exam at the DDS.

Subsequently, question is, can you take the learner's permit test online? You will probably take the permit test at the DMV. In a few states like Florida, can also take the test online. However, most states still require you to take the test in person. We created Driving-Tests.org to help you quickly find information about your local DMV and the knowledge exams in your state.

Also question is, do you have to schedule a permit test in GA?

Pass a Knowledge Exam. No appointment is necessary. Will be given when you apply. Applicants under age 18 are required to have Parent/Guardian, Responsible Adult or Authorized Driver Training Instructor to sign the application for the driver's license.

How much is a permit test in GA?

You must begin your permit test 30 minutes or more before the service center is scheduled to close, in order to provide an appropriate amount of time to complete the test and issue your permit or license if you pass. The cost for a learner's permit is $10, and it is valid for two years.

29 Related Question Answers Found

What happens if you fail your permit test in Georgia?

If you fail one or both sections of the GA Permit, you will be able to retake the section(s) as early as the next business day. If you fail a section on the GA Permit Test you will have to wait 7 days, and if you fail three times you have to wait 30 days.

Is the permit test hard in Georgia?

Georgia Practice Permit Tests. Getting your Georgia driver's license doesn't have to be hard. Use Test-Guide.com's free Georgia practice permit tests to prepare for your exam the fast and easy way. Our questions come right from the source - the Georgia DDS driver's handbook.

What questions are on the Georgia permit test?

You will be asked to identify certain signs, signals and markers. You must correctly answer 15 out of 20 questions to pass. The road rules test consist of a set of questions about driver responsibility, knowledge of laws and safe driving practices. You must correctly answer 15 out of 20 questions to pass.

Is drivers ed required in Georgia?

Joshua's Law: Why You Need Driver's Ed in Georgia
The law requires that 16-year olds looking to have a driver's license must complete a Georgia DDS-approved, 30-hour driver's education course and 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training, six of which must be at night.

What do I need to bring to get my permit?

To apply for a first time learner permit
  1. Fully completed application form for a learner permit D201.
  2. Original driver theory test pass certificate (dated within two years)
  3. Photographic I.D.
  4. Proof of your personal public services number (PPSN)

What is needed for a permit test?

What do I need to bring to the DMV to get my permit?
  • Proof of Identification – Birth certificate (or a certified copy issued by state you were born in) or United States Passport.
  • Proof of Social Security Number – Original social security card or your W-2 showing your SSN.
  • Proof of Residential Address – Home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc. (

Can you drive to school with a permit in Georgia?

In Georgia USA, can a 16-year old drive alone with a learner's permit? No. To get your driver's license you must be 16 years old, have had your learner's permit longer than one year, have completed a driver's education course, and you must pass the road driving exam.

How long is a driver's road test?


The road test typically takes about 20 to 30 minutes. Even after you pass the test, there may be additional wait time at the DMV to process your paperwork, take your picture, and issue a license once you pass. Make sure to plan your day accordingly. On test day, you should arrive at least 15 minutes early.

Can you drive by yourself with a permit in Georgia?

Permit Restrictions - Over 18
While driving with your learners permit, you have to observe one condition only (in addition to the traffic laws, of course): Supervised driving only. You cannot drive alone and must have another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you at all times.

Can you get your license at 18 without a permit in Georgia?

You can only hold one type of driver's license at a time in Georgia. At 18 you would not need to get a permit, unless you want to drive with somebody else helping you before you get a Class C license. If I'm 18, do I still need to provide proof of a permit when applying for a driver's license?

Can I get my permit at 15?

At age 15, individuals are eligible for a learner's permit, or age 14 if enrolled in driver education. Permit holders may not drive unsupervised. At age 16, drivers who have held the learner's permit for at least 12 months are eligible for an intermediate license.

How much does a driver's license cost in GA?

Non-Commercial License Fees
License Type License Term Fee
Regular Driver's License (Class A, B, C, E, F, M) (1) 8 Years $32
Learner's Permit (Class CP) 2 Years $10(2)
Learner's Permit (Class EP and FP) 1 Year $10
Learner's Permit (Class MP) 6 Months $10

How do I schedule my permit test?


You will need to make a DMV appointment for the written test. We recommend that you wait until you have your certificate in hand before making an appointment to avoid rescheduling. Tests are not given after 4:30pm. Make a DMV appointment by phone: 1-800-777-0133 or online (select the office visit appointment option).

How do you study for a learners permit in Georgia?

1) Get the Georgia Driver's Manual, 2) Study the book or the online version, 3) Gather your documents ahead of time, 4) Take your written test at a DDS office. Once you pass the exam (and an eye exam), your picture will be taken and you will pay the $10 fee. You'll be given a paper copy of your Learner's Permit.

What do they test you on a driving test?

Before you begin, the examiner will test your eyesight. You'll have to read a number plate on a parked car from a distance of 20 metres. If you fail the eyesight check, you will fail your driving test. Next, you will be asked 2 questions on vehicle safety – these are called 'show me, tell me'.