Can a landlord evict you to do renovations California?

Asked By: Vicentiu Jannsohn | Last Updated: 28th February, 2020
Category: real estate real estate renting and leasing
4.3/5 (996 Views . 12 Votes)
Under the Residential Tenancy Act, landlords can evict tenants in order to conduct repairs and renovations on their properties. First of all, landlords cannot evict tenants for just any repair or renovation – the work to be done must actually require the property to be vacant.

Click to see full answer


Similarly, can my landlord kick me out for renovations?

If your landlord asks you to leave Your private landlord may try to end your tenancy if they want to do major repair or building work in your home. Your landlord must follow the correct eviction process and give you notice. Your landlord can't force you to leave your home. The eviction may be illegal if they do.

Secondly, can a landlord kick you out California? In California, a landlord can only evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent, damage to the property or a violation of the lease or rental agreement. In that case, the landlord can evict the tenant with a 30-day or 60-day notice to quit without saying why the tenant must move out.

Subsequently, one may also ask, how soon can you evict a tenant in California?

If you are evicting a tenant from a month-to-month lease, you will need to give the tenant a 30-day notice to move out. If the tenant has lived in the unit for more than one year, the notice must be extended to 60 days. In government-subsidized housing, the notice must be 90 days.

What can I do if my landlord is trying to evict me in California?

Landlord Attempts a "Self-Help" Eviction A landlord can only evict a tenant by going to court. It is illegal for a landlord to attempt to force a tenant to move out of a rental property through any other way, such as shutting off the utilities to the rental unit or changing the locks on the doors or windows.

29 Related Question Answers Found

How can I ruin my landlord's life?

Don't let a landlord run your life or ruin it. They may own the property, but you have rights.

7 Steps for Fighting – and Beating – a Bad Landlord
  1. Start a written record.
  2. Check your lease agreement.
  3. Send written requests.
  4. Decide if you have a case.
  5. Seek legal assistance.
  6. File a civil lawsuit.

What a landlord can and Cannot do?

A landlord cannot refuse to rent to persons in a protected class. A landlord cannot provide different services or facilities to tenants in a protected class or require a larger deposit, or treat late rental payments differently. A landlord cannot end a tenancy for a discriminatory reason. A landlord cannot harass you.

What are my rights if my landlord decides to sell?

The owner's rights
As an owner, your landlord is within their rights to sell the property even if it falls during your fixed lease agreement. However, before they show the premises, they must provide you, the tenant, with written notice of their intention to sell.

How many days does a landlord have to give you to move out Ontario?

Your landlord must give you the notice a certain number of days before he or she wants you to move out. The notice period depends on the reason for eviction, and is between 0 to 365 days. When you receive this notice, you can choose to move out.

When must a landlord pay relocation?


Relocation assistance payments must be made available to the tenant within 15 days of service of the written notice to terminate tenancy (move-out). Landlords may elect to pay the relocation assistance through an escrow account rather than provide the full relocation amount on the 15th day.

What rights do renters have without a lease?

Yes, a landlord can evict you if there is no lease. If there is no lease, either written or oral, a landlord still can evict you. This is because the lack of a lease means that you are in a month-to-month tenancy at will and must pay rent on a monthly basis, or more frequently if you have an agreement to that effect.

How much notice does a landlord have to give on a rolling contract?

A tenant must give at least 21 days' written notice to end the tenancy, unless the landlord agrees to a shorter time. This agreement should be in writing. A landlord must give at least 90 days' written notice to end the tenancy. Landlords can give less time (at least 42 days' notice) in some cases.

Do landlords have to pay for tenants to live elsewhere?

No. Unlike local councils and housing associations, private landlords are under no legal obligation to rehouse a tenant when a property becomes uninhabitable and needs repairs.

How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in California?

Notice Requirements for California Landlords
A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days (60 days if you've lived in the rental a year or more) as required by California law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.

How much does it cost to evict a tenant in California?


The average eviction costs $750 to $1250 to retain an eviction specialist. This however, is not the full, true cost. According to The Law Firm of Dennis P. Block and Associates, the average eviction takes 4 to 6 weeks in California.

What are grounds for eviction in California?

In California, a landlord may be able to evict a tenant if the tenant: Fails to pay the rent on time; Breaks the lease or rental agreement and will not fix the problem (like keeping your cat when pets are not allowed); Damages the property bringing down the value (commits "waste");

Can you be evicted if you pay partial rent in California?

When a landlord serves a 3 day notice to pay rent or quit on a tenant in California, the landlord should not accept a partial rent payment from the tenant. In order to evict a non-paying tenant, landlords are advised to not accept partial rent payments during the 3 day notice period.

What rights do I have as a tenant in California?

Tenants may withhold rent, move out without notice, sue the landlord, call state or local health inspectors, or exercise the right to “repair and deduct” if a landlord fails to take care of important repairs, such as a broken heater. For specifics, see California Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent or “Repair and Deduct”.

How do you evict someone living with you?

  1. Step 1: Understanding the Eviction Laws.
  2. Step 2: Have a Valid Reason for Eviction.
  3. Step 3: Try to Reason with Your Tenants.
  4. Step 4: Give a Formal Notice of Eviction.
  5. Step 5: File Your Eviction with the Courts.
  6. Step 6: Prepare for and Attend the Court Hearing.
  7. Step 7: Evicting the Tenant.
  8. Step 8: Collecting Past-Due Rent.

How do I postpone an eviction in California?


How to Delay an Eviction in California
  1. Three-day notice to pay rent: With this notice, you have three days to pay rent or move out of the rental unit (see Cal.
  2. Three-day notice to cure: With this notice, you have three days to fix a lease violation (see Cal.
  3. Three-day unconditional quit notice: With this notice, you must move out within three days (see Cal.

How do I respond to an eviction notice in California?

When responding to the notice to quit, there are several options available to the tenant:
  1. Pay any delinquent rent that is due to the landlord within the allotted time of the notice.
  2. Move out of the premises within the allotted time of the notice.
  3. File an answer with the judicial court.
  4. File a motion to stay with the court.

How do I evict someone in California without a lease?

How to Evict a Tenant Without a Lease in California. A landlord evicting a tenant for failure to pay rent must serve the tenant with a three-day written notice. If it is for failure to pay the rent, the notice must state that if the tenant fails to pay overdue rent within three days, the eviction process will begin.