Can a 17 year old leave home legally in Michigan?

Asked By: Yenia Kerkemeier | Last Updated: 8th June, 2020
Category: family and relationships parenting teens
4.5/5 (158 Views . 38 Votes)
A 17-year-old is legally permitted to move out of his home in the state of Michigan. In the state of Michigan, 17-year-old persons are not classed as adults, minors or juveniles. However, parents are required to support children until they reach age 18. This becomes complicated if the child chooses to move out at 17.

Click to see full answer


Also to know is, can I move out at 17 without parental consent in Michigan?

No. You're legally an adult when you're 18 and you can make your decision then. Same reason as to why parents cannot legally kick you out til the day you turn 18. However, you could theoratically move out as long as you don't tell anyone.. but your parents could always report you to the police as being a run-away.

Likewise, can I move out at 17 legally? For it to be legal to move out at 17 (or 16 for that matter), the emancipation of a minor, a court must generally confirm the child has enough adult-like maturity to be on his or her own. Financial independence. In general, children must prove they can support themselves in order to get emancipated.

Correspondingly, what is the legal age to leave home in Michigan?

Some states have laws specifying at what age (i.e. ten) a child may be left home alone while, most simply take into account the maturity level and readiness of the child. In Michigan, there is no state law that specifically mandates how old a child must be in order to be left without adult supervision.

Can you leave home at 16 in Michigan?

If you are under 18 (and have not been adjudged to be an Emancipated Minor by a court) you have no right to leave home against your parents wishes. If your friends are helping you as a runaway, they can get into trouble too.

30 Related Question Answers Found

Is 17 considered a minor in Michigan?

Why 17-year-olds should be considered minors
While many states classify 17-year-olds as children, Michigan is one of the few that automatically indicts 17-year-olds as adults when charged or convicted of a crime.

What can I do if my 17 year old refuses to go to school?

If your child refuses to go to school, or you're supporting another parent or child in this situation, here's how you can respond:
  1. Ask for help.
  2. Consider possible triggers.
  3. Take a kind but firm approach.
  4. Give clear and consistent messages.
  5. Set clear routines on days off school.
  6. Engage the system.

Can a 17 year old be reported as a runaway?

Anyone under the age of 18 is a minor, and their parents have the right to determine where they live. If you leave home at 17 without parental permission or being emancipated in some manner (marriage, court order, etc.), then your parents can report you to the police as a runaway.

Can my mom call the cops if I leave?

4 attorney answers
Now that you are 18, your parents cannot control your movements. The simple act of leaving your home, and associating with an adult is not criminal. If your parents call the cops about such a circumstance, nothing will happen.

What do you do when your teenager runs away?


If Your Teens Runs
If this happens in your home, call the police immediately. Don't wait 24 hours. Do it right away. Ask investigators to enter your child into the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) Missing Persons File.

Is 17 legal age in Michigan?

The age of consent actually differs between states. In some states, like New York, Tennessee and Iowa, the age of consent is 18. In others, like Texas and Idaho, it's 17, and in Michigan, it's 16. This means that if you live in Michigan, a 16-year-old is considered old enough to legally consent to sexual activity.

Can I move out at 17 in Ohio?

There is nothing you can do unilaterally to make yourself emancipated in Ohio. You may live with your friends if you parents consent. If they don't, you'll just have to stick around until your 18th birthday and then you are free from their control and can move out if you want.

Can a 14 year old date a 18 year old in Michigan?

The Romeo and Juliet Law in Michigan reduces the penalty for young people that are no more than 4 years older than their sex partner. For example, if an 18 year old engaged into sexual activity with a 14 year old, no names will go to the sex offender list.

Can a 12 year old babysit in Michigan?

Are you wondering if your 12-year-old can babysit their younger siblings this summer? Michigan has no law regarding the age a child can babysit and there is no magic age to determine if a tween or teen is ready to take on that responsibility.

How can I get emancipated at 17 in Michigan?

The Petition for EmancipationTop. The process of emancipation starts when a child who is at least 16 years old files a Petition for Emancipation in court. To be emancipated, the child must show the court you agree to the emancipation, OR the child must show the court that they can: Can support themselves.

Can a 16 year old sue their parents?

That's the age when someone legally becomes an adult and can do things like vote in an election. However, there are some things that young people can do before they legally become an adult.

Age Based Rights.
Age Right or Responsibility
16 Able to write a will
16 Marry with permission of parent(s)
16 Apply for own passport

What age can a child play outside unsupervised Michigan?

Home Alone Age: 11 (Guideline) From Michigan's DHS: “According to the Child Protection Law, there is no legal age that a child can be left home alone. It is determined on a case-by-case basis, but as a rule of thumb, a child 10 years old and younger is not responsible enough to be left home alone.

Can a 13 year old date a 17 year old in Michigan?

Michigan's statutory rape law does not exempt teens from prosecution for sexual penetration, but they are protected from prosecution for other sexual activity. However, if the parties engaged in oral sex, the 17-year-old could face prosecution.

What are my rights as a parent of a 17 year old?


As a parent, you're legally responsible for the care and upbringing of your child until he reaches the age of majority. You can still exercise your parental rights and make decisions on his behalf until he reaches the age of 18, or if he becomes legally emancipated before then or your rights are terminated by a court.

Can your parents control you at 18?

The answer is yes and no. (Mostly no.) It's true that when your child reaches the age of eighteen, they are legally seen as an adult and are legally responsible for their own behavior instead of their parents. The truth is, no matter how old your child, you have the right to enforce the rules of your house.

Can you move out at 17 without parents permission?

Aged 16-17
You can leave home without your parents' or carers' permission. Or they can ask you to leave. But it's important to think carefully before deciding to move out and leave home.